Author Topic: Villers Bocage  (Read 4352 times)

Offline rd.king

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 1943 WLC
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #15 on: 20-06-2010, 14:06:58 »
Aserafimov please don't give up on your first 64 version of bocage
it has the potential to be another goodwood.
You have done some very good work already and it just needs some polishing.
If you can keep the tanks out of the river and maybe ad a few more tanks.
this is already a good fight the way it is but the tigers need to break out into the fields.
The new version is a good fight as an infantry battle but with such a large and detailed map
available it's crying for a tank battle.

Thanks for all your work so far.

Offline aserafimov

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #16 on: 20-06-2010, 17:06:18 »
Aserafimov please don't give up on your first 64 version of bocage
it has the potential to be another goodwood.
You have done some very good work already and it just needs some polishing.
If you can keep the tanks out of the river and maybe ad a few more tanks.
this is already a good fight the way it is but the tigers need to break out into the fields.
The new version is a good fight as an infantry battle but with such a large and detailed map
available it's crying for a tank battle.

Thanks for all your work so far.

hi man,

don't worry about first version of villers bocage, I will finish it.
I like small maps due to this first I have finished the small villers bocage. I think that it's good infantry and tank battle despite small combat area.

and yes, I could keep the tanks out of the river... just I have to rework vehicle.obj file with 3ds max or maya...so when it's ready I will send download link...

Offline Guderian

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 133
  • Level Designer
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #17 on: 20-06-2010, 23:06:57 »
ok, here is the updated version of alternative Villers Bocage map:

http://www.4shared.com/file/Q-KhFxaZ/villers_bocage_final.html

@ cannonfodder

please, update Sticky topic with a new download link and delete old link.
thanks.

p.s.

How can I fix this issue?


Check your Gameplayobjects.con file

It looks like three lines of code for the flag pole where removed.

Give me a minute to find it for you.

Remove in bold
ObjectTemplate.minNrToTakeControl 2
ObjectTemplate.hasGreyCapturingState 1
ObjectTemplate.hoistFlag 0
ObjectTemplate.hoistMinMax 0.2/0.9
ObjectTemplate.flagTemplateTeam0 flag_hanging_neutral
ObjectTemplate.flagTemplateTeam1 flag_hanging_de
ObjectTemplate.flagTemplateTeam2 flag_hanging_us




Add this here

ObjectTemplate.isNotSaveable 1
ObjectTemplate.hasMobilePhysics 0
ObjectTemplate.hasCollisionPhysics 1
ObjectTemplate.physicsType Mesh
rem -------------------------------------
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate flagpole
rem -------------------------------------

ObjectTemplate.setControlPointName Your flag name here
ObjectTemplate.radius 15
ObjectTemplate.radiusOffset -7/-7/5
ObjectTemplate.team 1
ObjectTemplate.controlPointId 102
ObjectTemplate.areaValueTeam1 20
ObjectTemplate.areaValueTeam2 30
ObjectTemplate.timeToGetControl 60
ObjectTemplate.timeToLoseControl 60
ObjectTemplate.minNrToTakeControl 2
ObjectTemplate.hoistMinMax 0.2/0.9
« Last Edit: 20-06-2010, 23:06:06 by Guderian »

Offline aserafimov

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #18 on: 21-06-2010, 00:06:36 »
thanks for your help... :)
I fixed it.

Bubbles

  • Guest
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #19 on: 22-06-2010, 13:06:24 »
Just select the flag in the editor and move it down.

Offline aserafimov

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #20 on: 04-07-2010, 20:07:47 »
new download link:
http://www.4shared.com/file/tkMx1oOO/villers_bocage_push_mode.html


finally I found what I want from my alternative map of Villers Bocage.
I have added into mapdata.py
- push mode
- team SPs
the battle looks more aggressive with well arranged attack over the control points.

now the mapdata.py file looks like:

from game.plugins import plugin, limitKit, teamSPs, push

spawns = [
    plugin(teamSPs, sps = ['center_2', 'center_3', 'center_5'], team = 1),
    plugin(teamSPs, sps = ['center_1', 'center_4'], team = 2),
    plugin(teamSPs, sps = ['villers_bocage_south_1', 'villers_bocage_south_4'], team = 1),
    plugin(teamSPs, sps = ['villers_bocage_south_2', 'villers_bocage_south_3'], team = 2),
]

kitlimits = [
    plugin(limitKit, team = 1, slot = 1, kit = 'GS_SMGAssault_Limited', limit = 0.25),
    plugin(limitKit, team = 2, slot = 1, kit = 'BW_SMGAssault_Limited', limit = 0.25),
    plugin(limitKit, team = 1, slot = 3, kit = 'GS_LMG_MG42_Limited', limit = 0.2),
    plugin(limitKit, team = 2, slot = 3, kit = 'BW_LMG_Limited', limit = 0.2),
    plugin(limitKit, team = 1, slot = 5, kit = 'GS_AntitankAssault_Limited', limit = 0.1),
    plugin(limitKit, team = 2, slot = 5, kit = 'BW_Antitank_Limited', limit = 0.1),        
]

push = [
    plugin(push, source = 'outskrit_west', target = 'villers_bocage_south', attacker = 2,),
    plugin(push, source = 'outskrit_west', target = 'center', attacker = 2,),
    plugin(push, source = 'center', target = 'villers_bocage_east', attacker = 2,),
    plugin(push, source = 'villers_bocage_east', target = 'german_arty_position', attacker = 2,),
]

gpm_cq = {
    64: kitlimits + spawns + push,
}


now, I will start work over original 64 size map of Villlers Bocage, wich navmesh is still with WIP status.
« Last Edit: 05-07-2010, 03:07:33 by aserafimov »

Offline djinn

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 5.723
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #21 on: 08-07-2010, 13:07:57 »
Is the DL for the 64 sized map? Have you been able to get British bots to start from where they do in Conquest cuz it will really make a more interesting game if it was like it was in conquest with the right vehicles locked

Offline aserafimov

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #22 on: 05-08-2010, 07:08:08 »
Hi to all,

@ djinn
atm I am working in two direction:
- during my vacation I have tested 64-size map of Villers Bocage
- atm I am working over my custom map Longuse sur mer, which at the final moment   will has SP support and should looks great...probably.. ;D
link: http://fhpubforum.warumdarum.de/index.php?topic=10877.0

Test:
now to Villers...what I have done...
because I like infantry battles..I gave to Brit forces 10 sherman tanks:
-five tanks have spawn time 9999, it means they will be out of battle after their  knocking.
-five tanks have spawn time 300s
-3 AT guns to defend Tilly sur Seulles..instead ABC line
-one 3inch mortar.

for German forces
- two StuGs(spawn time 1st-9999/2nd-300) and one tiger(spawn time 9999)
- one halftrack for infantry
- flak88
- some pak40

-locked vehicles

if I remember correctly I set guns spawn time to 9999

at the begining it starts as a tank battle, it continues till the moment when the most of the tanks are knocked out..after that the infantry is ready for action..

- the Brit main base and German main base are not included at the moment, I don't  have a time to test how bots will work if these control points are included.
- Control points: town of Tilly is in Brit hands, Crossroad, Farm, villers and   Point213 are in german hands.
- added push mode: tilly->farm->crossroad->point213->villers
- noticed also that when the bot soldier drives Tiger...how to say.. the bot   has bad coordination when he has to     drive through the bridge, StuG and   Halftrack-no problem.

now at the question: are there guys who want to test the map?
« Last Edit: 05-08-2010, 07:08:10 by aserafimov »

Offline lemonwire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #23 on: 05-08-2010, 08:08:47 »
Hi to all,

@ djinn
atm I am working in two direction:
- during my vacation I have tested 64-size map of Villers Bocage
- atm I am working over my custom map Longuse sur mer, which at the final moment   will has SP support and should looks great...probably.. ;D
link: http://fhpubforum.warumdarum.de/index.php?topic=10877.0

Test:
now to Villers...what I have done...
because I like infantry battles..I gave to Brit forces 10 sherman tanks:
-five tanks have spawn time 9999, it means they will be out of battle after their  knocking.
-five tanks have spawn time 300s
-3 AT guns to defend Tilly sur Seulles..instead ABC line
-one 3inch mortar.

for German forces
- two StuGs(spawn time 1st-9999/2nd-300) and one tiger(spawn time 9999)
- one halftrack for infantry
- flak88
- some pak40

-locked vehicles

if I remember correctly I set guns spawn time to 9999

at the begining it starts as a tank battle, it continues till the moment when the most of the tanks are knocked out..after that the infantry is ready for action..

- the Brit main base and German main base are not included at the moment, I don't  have a time to test how bots will work if these control points are included.
- Control points: town of Tilly is in Brit hands, Crossroad, Farm, villers and   Point213 are in german hands.
- added push mode: tilly->farm->crossroad->point213->villers
- noticed also that when the bot soldier drives Tiger...how to say.. the bot   has bad coordination when he has to     drive through the bridge, StuG and   Halftrack-no problem.

now at the question: are there guys who want to test the map?

Sure, I'd like to test this map, I've also noticed that bots tend to struggle in tight spaces with tigers on a number of maps.

Offline cannonfodder

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.228
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #24 on: 05-08-2010, 10:08:33 »
Yeah I'll give it a bash.


...I've also noticed that bots tend to struggle in tight spaces with tigers on a number of maps.
They'll eventually get unstuck. If not, just take the Tiger off him as punishment for being a bad driver... :)

The traffic jams on Aberdeen are the worst, once I had to clear a 8-tank 3-vehicle logjam... ::)

Offline djinn

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 5.723
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #25 on: 05-08-2010, 12:08:14 »
I did say Remick has this map in hand.

I'd be more interested in the custom maps

Offline rd.king

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • 1943 WLC
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #26 on: 06-08-2010, 03:08:48 »
Sign me up for testing.

Offline aserafimov

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #27 on: 06-08-2010, 05:08:20 »
ok guys,
this weekend, I will prepare the map and I will inform you.
Thanks!

Offline aserafimov

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #28 on: 29-08-2010, 14:08:56 »

Offline CBCRonin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Villers Bocage
« Reply #29 on: 12-09-2010, 18:09:40 »
Played the map repeated times and it was very good.
-------------
-One issue that occurred though was that when playing as Allies, they only used the tanks "piecemeal" (one at a time or not at all). Playing as the Germans, the Allies used the Shermans in force (which was very effective until they tried to cross the river)..... so I am not sure why this occurs.

-The Tiger occasionally has difficulty traversing the bridge, but this was true in history (so I consider it a positive  ;D).

-The far east flag on the map, at the lone farmhouse, received only small attention from allies. As the allies primarily use the field to approach the main crossing bridge, the Germans have easy path to retaking it.

-The church flag is incredible battle with almost no chance to take for Allies. The Germans repeatedly and rapidly spawn there if it is in danger and even with two tanks we could not cap it. Very good job.
--------------------
I looked for available kits: sniper rifle, panzerfaust, mortar, etc., but did not see any available at bases/tables/church steeples; did I just miss seeing them or not yet added?