Author Topic: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.  (Read 341 times)

Offline Alanms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
When I start the game, it always crashes. The problem seems to be that the game seems to switch to the 800x600 resolution which my display adapter does not support. I used to play it on my older laptop 4 or 5 years ago. I really want to play it now on my newer laptop. Any solutions would be appreciated.


I hear some people have used custom resolutions.....can I know how to use them?

Offline SgtAlex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #1 on: 04-02-2020, 14:02:19 »
From FH2 discord:

Quote
PROBLEM
The 800x600 display mode is not listed among the modes supported by your primary video driver.

To be able to play Forgotten Hope 2, consult the Internet search engine of your choice how to add a custom display mode to the video driver.


CAUSE
Battlefield 2 has a hard-coded requirement for 800x600 resolution to be present in list of all available resolutions, but several manufacturers (mostly laptop) supply graphic drivers where this resolution was removed.

SOLUTION
You’ll need to add 800x600 resolution manually.


Firstly, you’ll need what graphics card do you have in your PC. In order to do that:

Offline Alanms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #2 on: 04-02-2020, 15:02:02 »
Thank you for your response but the intel card method may not work for me and Im not sure of using the custom resolution utility(CRU). I fear the screen may go blank if I changed the resolution. Have you used that application(CRU)?

Offline SgtAlex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #3 on: 04-02-2020, 15:02:27 »
No. I've never had that kind of resolution problems, sry. I do only know that it's a common issue and developers have made a guideline to solve it, which is the one I posted above

Offline Alanms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #4 on: 04-02-2020, 15:02:36 »
Hmm....I see...you know anyone else who may have used CRU, maybe point me to a thread where someone says they did? Anyway thanks for the advice.

Offline SgtAlex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #5 on: 05-02-2020, 17:02:17 »
Joinning official FH2's discord and asking under tech-support seems the most suitable way to have a response.

http://fhpubforum.warumdarum.de/index.php?topic=21506.0

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.440
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #6 on: 05-02-2020, 17:02:04 »
Thank you for your response but the intel card method may not work for me and Im not sure of using the custom resolution utility(CRU). I fear the screen may go blank if I changed the resolution. Have you used that application(CRU)?
You're not supposed to play in 800x600, just add it to your available resolutions. Why would your screen go blank? Read what SgtAlex quoted again.

Offline Alanms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #7 on: 06-02-2020, 02:02:32 »
wait. So using CRU merely adds a resolution to the available list of resolutions? I thought it changed the resolution automatically upon restart.

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.440
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #8 on: 06-02-2020, 18:02:53 »
I have no idea what it does, I'm telling you what to do to fix the problem.

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.116
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #9 on: 12-02-2020, 21:02:20 »
wait. So using CRU merely adds a resolution to the available list of resolutions?
Yes.

I thought it changed the resolution automatically upon restart.
Fortunately it doesn't ;)

Offline Alanms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #10 on: 13-02-2020, 17:02:18 »
Oh....so basically I add a new resolution in the standard resolutions box and then I use restart. After that I will find 800x600 in the display options?

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.116
    • View Profile
Re: I need help. The game crashes upon startup always.
« Reply #11 on: 17-02-2020, 21:02:04 »
Yes, but you don't need to use it. The game just wants it to be there.