Author Topic: Can't get it to work on Windows 10  (Read 443 times)

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« on: 24-12-2018, 16:12:29 »
Hi all,

I've been playing FH2 on my windows 7 PC for a while, and now I'm trying to install it on my windows 10 laptop but it doesn't seem to work. Every time I launch the game and press "Play" in the launcher, the screen turns black for about 10 seconds and then it gets back to the desktop.
I've tried to turn off the compatibility mode and only running it as administrator, which didn't help. I also downloaded the stand-alone version as I read about on the forum, but I still experience the exact same issue. Is there someone who has an idea on how I can fix this?

Kind regards and merry christmas,

Mark

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.310
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: 24-12-2018, 17:12:30 »
Hi Mark,

try asking in the #tech-support channel on our Discord. Radiosmersh is the guy you may want to speak with, he is the creator of standalone installer.

Offline radiosmersh

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: 24-12-2018, 18:12:43 »
Hello,

I'm the creator of standalone installer, as jan pointed out above, and I probably know the reason. I have discovered lately that the DirectX web setup that is launched during installation failes on some occasions. Can you run this DirectX installer and see if it fixes the issue? Sorry for the inconvenience.

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: 26-12-2018, 11:12:58 »
Hello,

Thanks for your replies and I'm sorry for my lack of an answer, I didn't get a notification in my email:(
I tried installing the DirectX file you sent me, but nothing changed. Did I do something wrong? The installer asked me where I wanted to install it, I created a folder on my desktop and installed in in there. Then after I installed it in that folder, I ran the .exe file it created in my desktop folder and installed DirectX. Did I do something wrong along that proces?

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it,

Mark

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: 30-12-2018, 18:12:32 »
Does anyone have any suggestions?

Mark

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.057
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: 30-12-2018, 22:12:22 »
I'd suggest installing DirectX on C: instead of on desktop. Not sure if it would make any difference, but it doesn't hurt to try.

You tried running it in Win7 compatibility mode already, right?

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #6 on: 31-12-2018, 15:12:42 »
I tried installig it on C:, no difference... I tried running windows 7 compatibilty but it doesnt work as well.

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.057
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #7 on: 01-01-2019, 01:01:19 »
Could you describe where you downloaded and how you installed the mod? If you do that, we might see which steps are OK and where it might have gone wrong.

Offline Roughbeak

  • Science of Hooting, PhD
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.436
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #8 on: 02-01-2019, 16:01:02 »
The solution for myself, I went into (as I had a black screen then ctd):
"Documents\Forgottenhp 2\Profiles"

Select your profile and tweak the "Video.con" and the Hz number needs to match your screen/monitor after "VideoSettings.setResolution"


Best regards,
Roughbeak

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #9 on: 02-01-2019, 19:01:53 »
Could you describe where you downloaded and how you installed the mod? If you do that, we might see which steps are OK and where it might have gone wrong.

- I downloaded the standalone version from http://fhpubforum.warumdarum.de/index.php?topic=21663.0
- I opened the filed using PowerIso and extracted it to a temporary folder
- I installed the game in the C:Program Files x86 folder
- Then I downloaded and installed DirectX as written in my previous post

I'm doing this on a hp pavilion g15-cx0830nd  laptop, if that helps.

I just uninstalled it and tried again, and now after installing it I get the following error: "Unable to execute file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Forgotten Hope 2\mods\bin\launcher.exe     CreateProcess failed; code 740. You're not authorized to edit this file."

That's basically it, or do you need more information?

The solution for myself, I went into (as I had a black screen then ctd):
"Documents\Forgottenhp 2\Profiles"

Select your profile and tweak the "Video.con" and the Hz number needs to match your screen/monitor after "VideoSettings.setResolution"


Best regards,
Roughbeak

I've tried that, but it doesn't work (same problem as written in my initial post).
« Last Edit: 02-01-2019, 20:01:39 by mverhulst13 »

Offline radiosmersh

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #10 on: 02-01-2019, 21:01:30 »
I just uninstalled it and tried again, and now after installing it I get the following error: "Unable to execute file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Forgotten Hope 2\mods\bin\launcher.exe     CreateProcess failed; code 740. You're not authorized to edit this file."
Try to open the launcher with admininstrator rights.

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #11 on: 02-01-2019, 21:01:41 »
I have already done that but it also doesn't work...:/
Here are some screenshots of my compatibility settings, my video config file and my installation folder. I hope it helps.





« Last Edit: 02-01-2019, 21:01:28 by mverhulst13 »

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #12 on: 02-01-2019, 21:01:54 »
Somehow the link to the video config file doesn't work, so here's what it says:

VideoSettings.setResolution 1920x1080@60Hz
VideoSettings.setTerrainQuality 2
VideoSettings.setEffectsQuality 2
VideoSettings.setGeometryQuality 2
VideoSettings.setTextureQuality 3
VideoSettings.setLightingQuality 2
VideoSettings.setDynamicShadowsQuality 2
VideoSettings.setDynamicLightingQuality 2
VideoSettings.setAntialiasing Off
VideoSettings.setTextureFilteringQuality 2
VideoSettings.setViewDistanceScale 1
VideoSettings.setVideoOptionScheme 3
« Last Edit: 02-01-2019, 22:01:59 by mverhulst13 »

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.057
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #13 on: 03-01-2019, 00:01:47 »
Can you try running FH2 in Windowed Mode? In the FH2 Launcher, go to Options, then Video and check the box at the bottom "Windowed Mode".

It should give you an error message when crashing. Please post that message here.

Please try this without compatibiluty mode and with compatibility mode for Win7. Run as admin always on.

Offline mverhulst13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get it to work on Windows 10
« Reply #14 on: 03-01-2019, 18:01:09 »
I played it in windowed mode and gave me the error as seen on the screenshot (the error was the same with running it in windows 7 compatibility and without it). I then ran it again and adjusted the windowed mode settings to 1920 x 1080 and then it actually worked (beginning video played) but it froze at the account menu.