Author Topic: Berlin  (Read 4909 times)

Offline blander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #90 on: 20-04-2018, 02:04:17 »
Hello and welcome back to another question by Blander.

1. Soldiers glow in the map, I heard it has something to do with Hemimaps but I know nothing about Hemimaps. Help please?

2. Loading music. I couldn´t figure how to create correctly the .ogg file. How do I do it?

Thanks in advance!

Offline GeoPat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 480
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #91 on: 20-04-2018, 02:04:10 »
1. generate groundhemi   I think it is under compile below generate lightmaps, etc.

2. you need BF soundtools to get the right .ogg that works with Bf2.  It needs to be in the correct wave for to do that.  Look it up and have fun or just give me your music file and I will do it.  Contact me at CMP forum or in Discord.

Online Ts4EVER

  • Banner of THeTA0123
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 7.700
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #92 on: 20-04-2018, 04:04:50 »
There is a batch file under tools that you just drag music onto. It will convert it into the right ogg-format.

Offline SgtAlex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #93 on: 20-04-2018, 04:04:44 »
About the Nebel thing, I noticed the same thing with Katyusha, it acted like a light source and lighted all the buildings close to it, no need to lightmap, can be seen on editor, I supposed that kind of vehicles have actually a small light source that is activated when a rocket is fired, and editor recognise it and draw it as a light.

Online Ts4EVER

  • Banner of THeTA0123
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 7.700
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #94 on: 20-04-2018, 11:04:48 »
Exactly. Dont lightmap with the gameplay layers on.

Offline blander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #95 on: 26-04-2018, 17:04:13 »
I generated groundhemi. Glow is gone but vehicles look too dark now. How do I correct that?

Offline GeoPat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 480
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #96 on: 26-04-2018, 18:04:33 »
Well, you could lighten it, in GIMP or PS.
BTW, why don't you join Discord?  You would get quick answers to these basic questions.

Offline blander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #97 on: 26-04-2018, 22:04:45 »
Alright, will do that in the near future.

The answer is that lately I haven´t had a lot of time for mapping. I actually spent my time watching documentaries and pictures to recreate the correct feel. I hope to have more time to finish the map.

Offline GeoPat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 480
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #98 on: 26-04-2018, 23:04:13 »
I guess another thing you could do is temporarily change your lighting settings then generate the ground hemi.  You could use the "Day" preset.  Just don't save lighting settings when you are done.

Offline blander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #99 on: 27-04-2018, 01:04:34 »
Ah that´s a neat idea. I will implement it and see what happens. Thanks!

Offline blander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #100 on: 09-05-2018, 09:05:10 »
I haven´t had much time lately due to work... damn mapping takes time. Here goes some progress:








Offline nysä

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 463
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #101 on: 09-05-2018, 12:05:54 »
Looking good blander. The harsh spring sun is nice and realistic touch.

Offline blander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #102 on: 09-05-2018, 13:05:30 »
All the new statics have not been lightmapped yet, that´s why they look like that.

Offline nysä

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 463
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #103 on: 09-05-2018, 15:05:36 »
Well don't take me wrong, it looks pretty good   :)

Offline blander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Berlin
« Reply #104 on: 19-05-2018, 14:05:32 »
Hello!

This is my goal: to make a Tiger I not able to move.

I will figure it out eventually but maybe if you can help me I can do it quicker.

1) Do I have to make a new object and name it something like "Static Tiger" and then add it to the map folder or is it possible to override a normal Tiger and just change its values for this specific map?

2) Is there a line in the code that I have to change to make the tank non-movable or is it more complicated?