Author Topic: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)  (Read 357 times)

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
I have a slight problem that I have been trying to solve for a while now. Ever since the Revive Project shut down its servers, I haven't been able to play any BF2 or mods online. (More info here: http://www.762-ranking.de/site/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1043&start=20) I still have Revive BF2 installed though, and I was wondering if there would be a way to edit the core files so that multiplayer works again. And yes, I have tried BF2Hub and the FH2 Launcher, but none of them work. Let me know if you think this is possible. I really appreciate it.

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.225
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)
« Reply #1 on: 18-01-2018, 23:01:26 »
Just stop playing a mod to a 10 years old PC game on a Mac to solve all your problems including this one, lags etc.

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
Re: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)
« Reply #2 on: 19-01-2018, 01:01:19 »
Just stop playing a mod to a 10 years old PC game on a Mac to solve all your problems including this one, lags etc.

I've heard that many times, I just want a solution to this problem.

Offline Alubat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 550
    • View Profile
Re: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)
« Reply #3 on: 19-01-2018, 09:01:51 »

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
Re: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)
« Reply #4 on: 19-01-2018, 14:01:00 »
Battlefield 2 - BF2Hub Tutorial - How to Play Online
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoxYczTbu3Q

Discord BF2Hub channel
https://discordapp.com/channels/377985116758081541/381417787396063234

BF2Hub won't work because it doesn't recognize my BF2 directory, because since I'm playing on a Mac, my BF2 game appears as an application, and not as a folder. (Here's what my root folder for BF2 looks like: Revive BF2.app/Contents/Resources/drive_c/Program Files/EA GAMES/Battlefield 2) Is there a different root folder of BF2 that it might be able to recognize, and thus would work?

« Last Edit: 19-01-2018, 15:01:51 by fighterpil »

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.225
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)
« Reply #5 on: 19-01-2018, 17:01:12 »
...I just want a solution to this problem.
But there is none. FH2 was never meant to be played on Mac.

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
Re: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)
« Reply #6 on: 19-01-2018, 18:01:38 »
...I just want a solution to this problem.
But there is none. FH2 was never meant to be played on Mac.

I've got it working finally! :) The only problem is that whenever I try to change the controls in-game after I launch FH2 through the Launcher, the screen freezes up for a minute or so, and I can't make any changes. I have however, found an alternative for that: editing the FH2 settings.con file. I've got everything to work so far except for one, which is replacing RMB (aiming) with the "B" key. Every time I try to replace it, it shows up under the controls as "Undefined" or "Unknown". Below are a few screenshots of what I'm talking about. Any idea as to how I might fix this?




Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
Re: Playing FH2/BF2 Online After revive Shutdown (Help)
« Reply #7 on: 19-01-2018, 22:01:59 »
Never mind, I've got it working. There was a command line that I had forgotten to add. Thanks for all your help, man!