Author Topic: Hot spots  (Read 4270 times)

Offline gavrant

  • (Almost) retired dev
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Hot spots
« on: 20-10-2014, 22:10:48 »
Artillerymen, rejoice!

Here are some screenshots of one long-requested feature, just a day after it passed testing on our internal dev server:




Excuse me for the lack of accompanying wall of text, since, I guess, the screenshots are self-explanatory enough to anyone who ever tried to rain death on the enemy in FH2 without exposing his precious self to return fire :P

Offline Mudzin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #1 on: 20-10-2014, 22:10:48 »
Oh, that's cool. Now, not only you will know whose spot it is, but also what type of fire is requested - great! Nice work!  :)

Online jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.059
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #2 on: 21-10-2014, 00:10:35 »
why there is a smoke icon on the minimap on the second screenshot when you requested HE fire?

Offline Roughbeak

  • Science of Hooting, PhD
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.422
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #3 on: 21-10-2014, 00:10:56 »
Looks nice gavrant. :)

Offline Kubador

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.531
  • Flippin' Warbears since 1988
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #4 on: 21-10-2014, 00:10:08 »
why there is a smoke icon on the minimap on the second screenshot when you requested HE fire?

Because the second spot shows a different place than that one on mini_map.

Offline 0utlaw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #5 on: 21-10-2014, 03:10:48 »
nice!  :)

Offline LuckyOne

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2.629
  • Jack of all trades, master of none
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #6 on: 21-10-2014, 07:10:38 »
Excellent, I would just suggest to change the text of "Current spot by" to something like "Fire mission request by". More immersive IMO. But if you did it this way not to confuse the newbies (and lessen the amount of text on screen) I understand ...
This sentence is intentionally left unfinished...

Offline TASSER

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 625
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #7 on: 21-10-2014, 22:10:29 »
Awesome, awesome addition to the mod. Great work Gavrant and all those who worked on this!

Man! Arty has been getting some love recently! It's excellent!

BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM!
BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! –ping       <3

Offline RAnDOOm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.301
  • Portugal - Surfs Paradise in Europe
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #8 on: 21-10-2014, 23:10:30 »
Fantastic evolution with the Arty these past updates.

Lets keep this up fellas! Awesome job.

Offline Ivancic1941

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 960
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #9 on: 22-10-2014, 09:10:49 »
Finaly!  ;)
Floppy Wardisc or Floppy Wierdbear

Offline Oberst

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #10 on: 22-10-2014, 11:10:33 »
These small things are what really improves this mod!

Offline gavrant

  • (Almost) retired dev
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #11 on: 22-10-2014, 14:10:58 »
why there is a smoke icon on the minimap on the second screenshot when you requested HE fire?

Because the second spot shows a different place than that one on mini_map.
That minimap is actually a copy from the first screenshot for some weird reason, a solar flare or something :P


Excellent, I would just suggest to change the text of "Current spot by" to something like "Fire mission request by". More immersive IMO. But if you did it this way not to confuse the newbies (and lessen the amount of text on screen) I understand ...
The text appears in the "kill chat", together with kill messages, and it may disappear very quickly after, for example, a lucky grenade throw (but you can make it reappear by clicking Next/Previous Spot, even if you have a single spot ATM), so I think, it's better to keep it as brief as possible. Perhaps, even "Current spot by" is somewhat long.

Offline Surfbird

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.101
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #12 on: 22-10-2014, 17:10:58 »
Very cool, thanks!

Offline 0utlaw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #13 on: 22-10-2014, 18:10:00 »
one problem i still have at times with artillery is that i receive a spot, miss fire, begin to adjust... then more spots are given in different areas immediately changing the previous spot i am viewing, forcing me to cycle back. Sometimes the previous spot is gone or the target is no longer there. Is there a way to have the new spots not automatically change the artillery users view until wanting to check these? thanks.
« Last Edit: 22-10-2014, 18:10:04 by 0utlaw »

Offline gavrant

  • (Almost) retired dev
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: Hot spots
« Reply #14 on: 22-10-2014, 18:10:26 »
Hmm, the code says that you should be switched to a new spot automatically only if your current spot expires or there was no spot before that. Can somebody else confirm the problem reported by Outlaw?