Author Topic: No Man's Land?  (Read 2550 times)

Offline Turkish007

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.024
  • Mini-mod necromancer
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #15 on: 23-09-2012, 11:09:48 »
Allright  ;)

Archi, please report us step by step what are you doing. Thanks  :)

Offline titsmcgee852

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 464
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #16 on: 23-09-2012, 14:09:14 »
This is great  :)

Offline Turkish007

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.024
  • Mini-mod necromancer
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #17 on: 23-09-2012, 14:09:41 »
This is great  :)

Aggreed very much!

Offline Natty

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.170
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #18 on: 24-09-2012, 06:09:13 »
but guys, don't let tiny details like helmets or uniforms stop you. What matters most is the kind of game play you create. Players would care most about the feeling of the Great war, with trenches, old-ass equipment and weapons and the general landscape and "feel" of the fighting style. You can release it and then patch out the fine details later, like correct insiginas or helmets etc.

@Archi: talk to Kev4000 and Spit about the python stuff, it's not hard at all, the maps just needs to be packed differently somehow

Also work towards an open beta testing, perhaps if all the FH2 dev + testers together with you will test it we get half server then people on this forum can fill the rest: 64 player test will tell you a lot. These days people seem to have no problem filling up 64 players on custom map events.
The possibility of getting Great War maps in to FH2 could possibly lurk some people out. As long as you dont just make it in to regular FH2 game play with different models! (important)

« Last Edit: 24-09-2012, 06:09:53 by Natty »

Offline djinn

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 5.723
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #19 on: 24-09-2012, 09:09:22 »
Yes indeed. I recall that patch. Even had the pleasure of once getting my hands on the alfa.
I think its worth pursuing as an independent project.

And to reinterate Natty, its less the objects, more the feel. Trenches alone does not WWI make.
You need to big deeper to get the right gameplay to warrant mass charges, murderous commander or useable artillery, scout plan/ fighter planes and all the other stuff you can expect on the battlefield of 95yrs ago.

Thinking outside the box is key here. Otherwise, it becomes a reskinned FH2.

Online Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.016
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #20 on: 24-09-2012, 20:09:51 »
Trenches alone does not WWI make.
Begun this clonewar has?  ;)

Offline Turkish007

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.024
  • Mini-mod necromancer
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #21 on: 24-09-2012, 20:09:24 »
Trenches alone does not WWI make.
Begun this clonewar has?  ;)

LOL  :D this just made my day! Anyways, we shouldnt get apart from the topic.

Offline Natty

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.170
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #22 on: 25-09-2012, 07:09:41 »
And to reinterate Natty, its less the objects, more the feel.

which was... my point.....
- How does the game play design make it feel different from for other FH2 maps
- How does it stand out visually from other FH2 maps (screenshots I've seen looks like standard FH2)

anyway.. this is up to NML devs to take care of.
And yes, a map with only mud + trenches would be sufficient to make WW1. With proper sound and colorsettings.

Offline sheikyerbouti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.402
  • Yay, Rep feature is dead
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #23 on: 27-09-2012, 03:09:15 »
 "My name is Sheikyerbouti and i approve wholeheartedly of this mod being adopted by Fh2"


 Way to go Archi, git some ... HOO-AH
My Quebec includes Canada

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #24 on: 29-07-2018, 17:07:33 »
Okay, so I know this is a very old thread, but is there anyone here who would like to bring back No Man's Land? I know how to 3D model and animate a bit, and would be willing to help out. Please don't let this gem of a minimod die!

Offline Aggroman

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.012
  • This place needs more love -> ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #25 on: 29-07-2018, 17:07:12 »
How about using that knowledge to help with FH2? :)
As long as you do better with than with planes and your joystick in the game. ;)

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #26 on: 29-07-2018, 23:07:57 »
I'd be glad to help out! Who should I contact? And I may not the best pilot in-game, but I can fly a plane in real life ;)

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #27 on: 29-07-2018, 23:07:30 »
But I still want to know if it's possible to bring back No Man's Land

Offline VonMudra

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 8.230
  • FH2 Betatester/Verdun Team Researcher
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #28 on: 29-07-2018, 23:07:54 »
Dude, this thread is so old the cobwebs have grown cobwebs.  Most of the people who posted IN this thread don't even exist on the forum anymore.

Offline fighterpil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: No Man's Land?
« Reply #29 on: 30-07-2018, 13:07:23 »
Yeah, that's kinda what I figured