Author Topic: FH2 randomly CTDing  (Read 3759 times)

Offline Ahonen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 246
  • "The grass just spoke chinese."
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #15 on: 19-07-2012, 16:07:06 »
Just load back up once you CTD! With modern hardware that takes less than 2min.

How long it takes is not the problem, but the fact that the server will often put you in the opposing team upon connecting again, if the server isn't already full by the time you come back (it's a battle of fast clickers to get in that one server that has 64 players).

Also, may I ask about how much RAM you have? I have another 4GB bar somewhere that I could patch up with the first, but I'm too lazy to try that if it won't fix anything. If having 8GBs is what allows you to resist the memory bug, then I'll have fixed mine as well.
-A certain plumber took 'shrooms when he failed to rescue his girlfriend from being raped by a gorilla. His whole experience was documented in a game.

Offline DLFReporter

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.727
  • Betatesting FH2 makes me edgy...
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #16 on: 19-07-2012, 17:07:46 »
I have 8 GB with 2 4GB RAM sticks. Both produced last year.
Gravity is a habit that is hard to shake off

Offline Ahonen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 246
  • "The grass just spoke chinese."
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #17 on: 19-07-2012, 18:07:26 »
I have 8 GB with 2 4GB RAM sticks. Both produced last year.

I'll try that then.
-A certain plumber took 'shrooms when he failed to rescue his girlfriend from being raped by a gorilla. His whole experience was documented in a game.

Offline Ahonen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 246
  • "The grass just spoke chinese."
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #18 on: 19-07-2012, 21:07:04 »
Played two hours without crash. I guess having only 4GBs wasn't enough. Can't believe the fix was so simple.

Now to bump my topic on the sound in tanks problem.
-A certain plumber took 'shrooms when he failed to rescue his girlfriend from being raped by a gorilla. His whole experience was documented in a game.

Offline tippy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #19 on: 20-07-2012, 05:07:46 »
I have 8 gigs and it still crashes. Hope someone can find the source of it and fix it. Never had this problem in any of the previous updates.

Offline DLFReporter

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.727
  • Betatesting FH2 makes me edgy...
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #20 on: 20-07-2012, 07:07:50 »
It's not the amount of RAM in my experience, its the quality that matters.
Gravity is a habit that is hard to shake off

Offline Excavus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 391
  • Member of the FH2 Cynic Club
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #21 on: 20-07-2012, 11:07:14 »
Instead of trying to justify the problem with "get better hardware", how about we solve this problem so people with less fortunate budgets can actually enjoy the game?

Offline DLFReporter

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.727
  • Betatesting FH2 makes me edgy...
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #22 on: 20-07-2012, 11:07:27 »
I'm not saying get better hardware, I'm just listing things that are imho affected by the 'problem' and where it might stem from. And try to provide help from my vantage point as your 'friendly' support guy. Everything else is up to the devs.
Gravity is a habit that is hard to shake off

Offline LuckyOne

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2.711
  • Purple Heart Collector
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #23 on: 20-07-2012, 13:07:09 »
Happens to me too sometimes... Since practically... Always. I have just learned how to live with it.
This sentence is intentionally left unfinished...

Offline Dago Red

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #24 on: 21-07-2012, 07:07:25 »
Getting real tired of these CTD's.

better hardware is not the answer. EVERYONE is having these random CTD's, not just the several dozen who've decided to post here about it. 

I have a brand new rig, that can run any game out there on high settings, it is certainly not my ram or hardware. And this started before the last release, but is MUCH worse since.

Offline sheikyerbouti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.402
  • Yay, Rep feature is dead
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #25 on: 21-07-2012, 08:07:27 »
 I have a lower end PC and the CTD's only hit me with this patch.

 I average at least 1 per session.
My Quebec includes Canada

Offline Twiebie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #26 on: 22-07-2012, 00:07:12 »
I get the same random CTD's since patch 2.45.

Played BF2 for 5 years without having these problems, and never had the issue on the previous FH2 patches.

After the CTD there's not much I can find about any errors. There's nothing being registered in the Event Viewer for example.

Specs:
Intel i5 3570K @ 4Ghz
MSI Z77A-GD55 S1155 Z77
Corsair Dominator 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHZ
MSI Nvidia GTX580 Twin Frozr
Crucial M4 128GB SSD

Offline Darman

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #27 on: 22-07-2012, 09:07:55 »
Similar Problem. But only if I play COOP.

If I play any map in COOP mode alone, everything works fine.

But no matter which map or how many AIs - whenever a friend of mine joins me, we are able to play the map for between 20 and 40 minutes. Then CTD. Always.
There are also other bugs appearing only in coop when I play with someone that dont appear when I play alone (also coop mode), like flags that can't be captured although the bar is already full blue. But this is a known bug I think.

Nevertheless, those ctds are really annoying because you can't finish a single round together without being cut off at some place.

And no, hardware really cant be the problem.
« Last Edit: 22-07-2012, 09:07:00 by Darman »

Offline tippy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #28 on: 28-07-2012, 18:07:17 »
Darman I have the same problem except it crashes when I play coop alone too. I played on 762 conquest server with no crashes or anything for 3 hours then quit. Something is really wrong with coop which makes me sad since its fun to kill time by killing bots :(

Offline KittyThePwner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 randomly CTDing
« Reply #29 on: 29-07-2012, 12:07:05 »
I have random crashes too.
i5 2500k, GTX 570, 2x4gb 1600mhz g.skill RAM, P8Z68-V LX, Win 7 64-bit.

Last time I tried playing in windowed mode no crash occurred. Sometimes I can play just fine the whole day but sometimes I get crashes every 30 mins or so.