Author Topic: How to make a Render [3ds Max]  (Read 1587 times)

Offline Jürgen

  • I belong to Naughty Club
  • **
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
How to make a Render [3ds Max]
« on: 24-08-2009, 23:08:09 »
I´m going to tell you how I make the renders of my models.

1: Make a ground plane.
 It shall be gray if the model is not textured.
 If the model is textured,you can use grass,ground or whatever you think that looks fine.



2: Place a Skylight.
You can place it anywhere,it doesn´t matter.


3: Adjust the settings
Activate "Cast shadows" and then at "Rays per sample" box write "3"

4: Now render the perspective window and make sure the position of the camera and everything is correct.
Also,make sure that no background is seen,just the ground plane must be seen.
Click F10 and then click render.


5: If it is correct,change "Rays per Sample" to "20"
Now you have a good render


Offline Sir Apple

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 595
  • game artist
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a Render [3ds Max]
« Reply #1 on: 25-08-2009, 00:08:38 »
Typically that setup is not going to render textures properly. Its fine for clay though :).

Textured game art stuff is meant to be shown in real time renders, as apposed to this type... but thats off topic :P (and like said this is fine for clay rendering).

I believe though for more advanced lighting/look you'd want to use 3 point lighting and such, even a plugin.

But back on topic, for clay rendering to enhance it a bit turn on "Catmull Rom" which is located in the render tab>Renderer>Antialiasing>Filter> Drop down box> Catmull Rom. Also under "Advanced Lighting" you can turn on Light Tracer, and set the samples to like 1000.

Don't mean to impose,
Apple :)

Offline Krätzer

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 621
  • Bitter Lemon
    • View Profile

Offline [ret]azreal

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.618
  • Retired Developer
    • View Profile

Offline Sir Apple

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 595
  • game artist
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a Render [3ds Max]
« Reply #4 on: 25-08-2009, 02:08:19 »
I'd be really great actually to know how to produce a nice render with textures on model, rather then clay. I use real time, which is fine, but I'd be interested to know how fh2 actually pulls it off... because often times rendering game art is a fail :).



:P

Offline Fuchs

  • No lollygagging
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 6.655
  • Traction Wars Propaganda Officer
    • View Profile
    • Traction Wars - WWII Free to Play Game
Re: How to make a Render [3ds Max]
« Reply #5 on: 31-08-2009, 21:08:53 »
Please tell Apple guys, his rendering skills never cease to amaze me when he manages to turn black steel into blue glowing steel.  ;D
"Force answers force, war breeds war, and death only brings death.
To break this vicious circle one must do more than act without thought or doubt."

Offline Toddel

  • Administrator
  • ******
  • Posts: 713
  • Donate for the biggest BattleField Mod Supporter!!
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a Render [3ds Max]
« Reply #6 on: 31-08-2009, 21:08:26 »
well its simple. just use scanline with pure settings. all this toys pff. scanline will show it exactly how it is ingame. anything else is fake to make bad models look better.

Offline Sir Apple

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 595
  • game artist
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a Render [3ds Max]
« Reply #7 on: 31-08-2009, 22:08:39 »
Typically I use marmoset - which shows the texture fine minus marmoset consistently reading my specular map as a reflection map, which then reflects the sky which puts a tint of many colors onto the texture :P.

I'm not exactly sure what this scanline is? I googled it, it tells me its like a plug-in or some such?

I dunno :).

~Apple

Offline Toddel

  • Administrator
  • ******
  • Posts: 713
  • Donate for the biggest BattleField Mod Supporter!!
    • View Profile
Re: How to make a Render [3ds Max]
« Reply #8 on: 31-08-2009, 23:08:43 »
default 3ds max renderer