Author Topic: New PC  (Read 3084 times)

Offline IrishReloaded

  • Leader of Irishforce
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.559
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #45 on: 25-02-2012, 16:02:22 »
so ill abuse taos topic as I dont think we need a pc topic for every user here.

The day before yesterday my pc died- It went into standby and I couldnt start it anymore. nothing worked, and mouse light was off.

Also when starting it was just black - not even the mainboard screen nor bios ect showed up - I call it dead dead ^^

So I went to the shop and bought those:
CPU Amd FX 6100  Prozessor AMD FX-6100, 3,30GHz, 6-Core, S-AM3+, Boxed  139€
and
http://www.ditech.at/artikel/MASM321/Mainboard_Socket-AM3Plus_ASUS_M5A99X_Evo_ATX.html 108€
and a new powersupply with 500W.

From the old pc I took my Readeon HD 6790 and my 3x2GB Ram.
------

As the crashdown damaged my HDD too, it was pretty annyoing, and the new pc would not start - even with a working Hdd it didnt. Only solution was a clean new install of win7 on it. Now its rrunning good, but it took pretty long to get it all done - - - If you want to save some nervs dont do it ^^

What you think of the system?

here a pic of cpu-z
« Last Edit: 25-02-2012, 16:02:46 by IrishReloaded »

Offline LuckyOne

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2.631
  • Jack of all trades, master of none
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #46 on: 25-02-2012, 16:02:50 »
Fail on the proc, new technology but the older (and now probably cheaper) 6 core Thubans are actually superior to this FX of yours... Will probably take some time until new apps can take advantage of it...

Older programs will probably run worse than with your old processor... (BF 2 too, since it can only take advantage of 1 core)

Mobo seems nice though...
This sentence is intentionally left unfinished...

Offline IrishReloaded

  • Leader of Irishforce
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.559
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #47 on: 25-02-2012, 17:02:14 »
my old one was a 2008 intel 2 core quad with 2,20hz each, so this one with 6, better 3 + 3 each with 3,30 should be better ^^ or?

Offline Kelmola

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2.848
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #48 on: 25-02-2012, 17:02:13 »
my old one was a 2008 intel 2 core quad with 2,20hz each, so this one with 6, better 3 + 3 each with 3,30 should be better ^^ or?
Probably so. 3,3 > 2,2 and there's a couple of processor generations inbetween. You would have to go all the way back to Athlon era when AMD processors were momentarily much faster than Intels when running on same clock frequency (the "3000+" my old PC had was really running at 2 GHz), but even so, newer processors usually offer more power even from a single core at same frequency (which means that "modern" 2 GHz processors would eat my old processor alive, it would be more like "1000+" nowadays).

Also, while BF2 won't support multiple threads, it means your device drivers, OS processes, firewall, antivirus, and whatever other programs you might have running can use the other cores/threads.

Offline LuckyOne

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2.631
  • Jack of all trades, master of none
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #49 on: 25-02-2012, 18:02:28 »
my old one was a 2008 intel 2 core quad with 2,20hz each, so this one with 6, better 3 + 3 each with 3,30 should be better ^^ or?

Sorry thought you had a Phenom II or something before... Yeah it will eat the old intel... However it's still not that good of an investment... If I needed a new processor today I would go for an intel... Or the older AMD 6 core/quad core... Except if you run a lot of threaded apps. (which I presume you don't as most of them barely utilize 2 cores let alone 6.
« Last Edit: 25-02-2012, 18:02:00 by LuckyOne »
This sentence is intentionally left unfinished...

Offline IrishReloaded

  • Leader of Irishforce
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.559
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #50 on: 25-02-2012, 18:02:57 »
well, as I dont have any knowledge, and I asked the whats better the 140€ intel oder 140€ amd he said amd bla bla- I think for me it will do the job, most important for me is that it lives the next 3-4 years ^^

Offline cannonfodder

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.228
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #51 on: 29-02-2012, 09:02:29 »
Last week I bought an FX 4100.

Why? I needed a quad-core and none of the local PC shops had any decent Phenom II's in stock.

My Phenom II x2 555 BE couldn't keep up with BF3, even when OC'ed to almost 3.9GHz.




From what I've read, you can easily squeeze 800-1000MHz more out of the 4100.

I set it to 4.4, but my mobo has shocking Vdroop (1.376 idle, 1.296 under load >:( ), so I had to bump up the voltage to make it stable.



Overall I'm happy with my baby Bulldozer, it does the job I bought it for, it's more power efficient, and it cost over 70 bucks less than the Phenom II 1090T I was looking at... :)

Offline IrishReloaded

  • Leader of Irishforce
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.559
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #52 on: 29-02-2012, 15:02:15 »
Even with my new system FH2 loads as slow/fast as with my old system-
Is the HDD the one that is limiting the loading speed of FH??

Offline DLFReporter

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.727
  • Betatesting FH2 makes me edgy...
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #53 on: 29-02-2012, 15:02:54 »
Oh yes, in BF2 terms it's all about RAM and HD speed, as that's where all the traffic is generated during map loading. The textures are shuffled from your HD to your RAM. Only HDs with 32MB Cache and 7200RPM or a SSD can help here.
Gravity is a habit that is hard to shake off

Offline IrishReloaded

  • Leader of Irishforce
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.559
    • View Profile
Re: New PC
« Reply #54 on: 29-02-2012, 15:02:37 »
ok as I have enough ram that is not the problem - just the HDD seems to be it- well could be worse