Author Topic: 1 in the Chamber  (Read 1540 times)

Offline Vicious

  • I belong to Naughty Club
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Panty Buncher
    • View Profile
1 in the Chamber
« on: 19-03-2011, 19:03:45 »
Was playing COD: Black Ops and a friend pointed out to me the fact that the guns in that came have a realistic chamber and reload feature.

If you don't fire a gun empty when you reload you should have the amount of ammo in the clip PLUS the one the chamber that wasn't fired. Can this code be added to FH2? I don't play enough PR to notice if they have this feature but if not it's something you could stick your tongues out for. Gameplay obviously won't be affected but it screams integrity.

One could argue that clips weren't always kept full anyway so the lack of this feature balances that concept.
« Last Edit: 19-03-2011, 19:03:15 by Vicious »
So they are so infallible yet they can't even communicate and work with each other... sounds like politicians.

Offline Flippy Warbear

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6.814
  • Adequately docile
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #1 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:52 »
Whats the point exactly, gameplay wise?

Offline Warior135

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #2 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:43 »
Good...but how would it change anything?

Offline Eat Uranium

  • Tea Drinker
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.497
  • Today's news will contain [REDACTED]
    • View Profile
    • FH2 Music
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #3 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:56 »
99.99% chance of not possible.

Offline Vicious

  • I belong to Naughty Club
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Panty Buncher
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #4 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:54 »
gameplay I said probably won't be affected by one extra bullet.

but a K98 should carry 6 rounds with one in the chamber not 5.

the guns are simply, incorrect.

if you shoot down to 2 rounds... you have 1 round in the chamber and 1 round in the clip.. put a fresh 5 clip in and you have 6 not 5.

« Last Edit: 19-03-2011, 20:03:40 by Vicious »
So they are so infallible yet they can't even communicate and work with each other... sounds like politicians.

Offline PanzerKnacker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1.910
  • Tommyjäger
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #5 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:51 »
you do remember the reloading procedure for a bolt-action rifle? How could you fit 6 bullets if the rifle is designed to fit only 5?
He was not wrong. Amateurs talk tactics, pros talk logistics.

Offline Vicious

  • I belong to Naughty Club
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Panty Buncher
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #6 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:11 »
you do remember the reloading procedure for a bolt-action rifle? How could you fit 6 bullets if the rifle is designed to fit only 5?

Honestly there are probably some guns this doesn't work for. But for most it does.

I just hate to see Black Ops getting a 1 Up in any area of realism.
« Last Edit: 19-03-2011, 20:03:05 by Vicious »
So they are so infallible yet they can't even communicate and work with each other... sounds like politicians.

Offline VonMudra

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 8.229
  • FH2 Betatester/Verdun Team Researcher
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #7 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:44 »
you do remember the reloading procedure for a bolt-action rifle? How could you fit 6 bullets if the rifle is designed to fit only 5?

Actually, you can load 6 rounds into a K98k, it just takes both hands, one squeezing the 6th round down so that the spring is all the way down, and the other slowly sliding the bolt forward until the ejector engages the cartridge.

But all in all, this is prob not possible in BF2.

Offline [ret]azreal

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.618
  • Retired Developer
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #8 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:56 »
Really? I'll have to try this...

Offline VonMudra

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 8.229
  • FH2 Betatester/Verdun Team Researcher
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #9 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:10 »
Really? I'll have to try this...

Yep.  I use it often in reenacting as a combat load.  Gives you that extra shot, plus, if someone is counting your shots, they think 5, not 6 ;)

Offline Cory the Otter

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2.815
  • Smoke me a kipper, I'll be home for breakfast.
    • View Profile
    • FA Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #10 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:57 »
Really? I'll have to try this...

Famous last words.



 ;D

Offline Strat_84

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 369
  • Lemming Chieftain
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #11 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:28 »
Really? I'll have to try this...

Yep.  I use it often in reenacting as a combat load.  Gives you that extra shot, plus, if someone is counting your shots, they think 5, not 6 ;)

People cheat even in real life, I can't believe it ! :D


Offline hOMEr_jAy

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2.806
  • Lannister Loyalist
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #12 on: 19-03-2011, 20:03:17 »
Not only the ammo count would change, but also the reload animation should be changed. This affects all weapons that have typical box-magazines, such as the FG42, Bren and all of the pistols (except revolvers of course). Instead of removing the magazine, inserting a new one and then loading a new round into the chamber/moving the bolt carrier backwards the player would simply replace the magazines.
RO:OST has this feature and it works quite well especially because not-completely empty magazines are kept and can be reloaded later.
I highly favour this suggestion but I just fear that the BF2 engine can´t handle two different ways of reloading...
And so he spoke, and so he spoke, that lord of Castamere,
But now the rains weep o'er his hall, with no one there to hear.
Yes now the rains weep o'er his hall,
and not a soul to hear.

Offline Vicious

  • I belong to Naughty Club
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Panty Buncher
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #13 on: 19-03-2011, 21:03:41 »
No No No what Von Mudra is talking about is different then what I'm talking about. Go take any pistol, load a full clip, shoot all but one, hell just shoot one, it doesn't make a difference, if you chambered a round and didn't fire it, it's not going where while you change the clip, FOR MOST GUNS. Nothing changes about the way you reload animates.
So they are so infallible yet they can't even communicate and work with each other... sounds like politicians.

Offline Thorondor123

  • God Emperor
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 6.573
  • Lugbûrz-ûr!
    • View Profile
Re: 1 in the Chamber
« Reply #14 on: 19-03-2011, 21:03:16 »
And I wouldn't do this with a weapon that fires from open bolt :P

Edit: Also:

:P
« Last Edit: 19-03-2011, 21:03:57 by Thorondor123 »
Let mortal heroes sing your fame