Author Topic: performance improvement  (Read 3552 times)

Offline Kev4000

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.039
  • FH2 "special" coder
    • View Profile
performance improvement
« on: 17-03-2011, 16:03:07 »
Just a thought for you SP'ers out there.

Run a BF2 dedicated server in LAN mode:
C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 2\BF2ServerLauncher.exe

Open task manager - processes - right click "bf2_w32ded.exe" and set affinity CPU1 only.

Then run BF2, and do the same in task manager just set it to CPU0 only. Then join local.

This may increase performance by quite a bit, since you'll use one CPU core for processing bots, and another for the game.

Offline kummitus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
    • CMP Gaming
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #1 on: 17-03-2011, 17:03:59 »


Fps wise it works but the bots tend to teleport from one place to another :P
CMP Gaming

Offline Raziel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 859
  • Bullet Magnet
    • View Profile
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #2 on: 18-03-2011, 08:03:35 »
Will try it this weekend! Thanks Kev  ;D

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 799
  • Formerly known as DJ Barney. The Few are many ;)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #3 on: 24-03-2011, 01:03:14 »
Yeah, I was wondering about this. Just never got round to trying it. Does this work then ?

Offline Raziel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 859
  • Bullet Magnet
    • View Profile
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #4 on: 24-03-2011, 09:03:43 »
Didn't have time to test it last weekend....was busy filming my latest FH2 film  ;D

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 799
  • Formerly known as DJ Barney. The Few are many ;)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #5 on: 24-03-2011, 10:03:48 »
OK, I'll give this a test on my quad core. FH is noticeably slower (framerate drop) than other mods I have that run very smoothly ... even with only 48 bots.

Will look forward to the film !   :D

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 799
  • Formerly known as DJ Barney. The Few are many ;)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #6 on: 24-03-2011, 22:03:08 »
Don't know why I never tried this. Anyway, better late than never.

On my quad core I put the server on CPU0 and BF2 on CPU2 (Affinity util recommended). I ran Libisey with 64 bots and x2 anti-aliasing.

Here are the averages from FRAPS.

BF2 ONLY

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg

  6869,    194384,   0, 101, 35.337

SERVER & BF2

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg

 24356,    476502,   0,  96, 51.114

Looks good but this is the first time I've done this. Num of frames is different between the tests and frame rate changes depending on built up / open area. I'd like to run a few more tests.

This is good advice anyway as I think I have a performance increase running BF2 on it's own (without the server) on CPU2 as I think the system as background tasks on CPU0. Why wasn't I doing this before  ::).

Offline kummitus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
    • CMP Gaming
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #7 on: 25-03-2011, 11:03:15 »
What cpu you got? Or actually what clock speed?
CMP Gaming

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 799
  • Formerly known as DJ Barney. The Few are many ;)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #8 on: 25-03-2011, 13:03:26 »
Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600, (8M Cache, 2.40 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB) .

Offline kummitus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
    • CMP Gaming
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #9 on: 25-03-2011, 13:03:03 »
Ye just wondered that those are not the best possible results. I guess some dualcore 3.5ghz cpu could almost do with some 200ish bots as my 3.2ghz i7 runs the game around 30fps when 255 bots but the server is on it's knees and 30fps+ with only game and 127 bots with ease
CMP Gaming

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 799
  • Formerly known as DJ Barney. The Few are many ;)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #10 on: 25-03-2011, 17:03:59 »
As I said, its only an initial basic test; ie. not very scientific.

255 bots ? Do you know that bf2 will only handle 108 bots (hard coded) ? The other 147 will just stand around and do nothing  ;D.

Offline kummitus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
    • CMP Gaming
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #11 on: 26-03-2011, 11:03:45 »
atleast they eat cpu power as 127 is smooth and 255 is not
CMP Gaming

Offline Devilman

  • I belong to Naughty Club
  • **
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #12 on: 26-03-2011, 13:03:28 »
Do you know that bf2 will only handle 108 bots (hard coded) ? The other 147 will just stand around and do nothing  ;D.

Do you know,thats not true
the number 108 comes from,
9 squads (alpha to India)
6 soldiers per squad =54
2 teams multiplied by 54 =108

these 108 bots will receive and follow commander orders
the remaining bots which arent in squads will follow the maps objectives,use vehicles as usual and will engage enemies with their handweapons when within their handweapons AI range
but they do not stand around and do nothing

200 bots,46 unassigned on each team,and all of them moving to the next flag and engaging enemies


Offline kummitus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
    • CMP Gaming
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #13 on: 26-03-2011, 13:03:54 »
I wonder how easy it would be to implement that increased squad size what 128 player server has to sp and make more bots to join squads
CMP Gaming

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 799
  • Formerly known as DJ Barney. The Few are many ;)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: performance improvement
« Reply #14 on: 26-03-2011, 16:03:31 »
Do you know that bf2 will only handle 108 bots (hard coded) ? The other 147 will just stand around and do nothing  ;D.

Do you know,thats not true

...

200 bots,46 unassigned on each team,and all of them moving to the next flag and engaging enemies

OK. I stand corrected. The extra bots just don't receive commander orders, but they do something. Cheers.