Poll

Which resolution do you play in?

1920x1200 16:10
25 (12.5%)
1680x1050 16:10
42 (21%)
1440x900 16:10
12 (6%)
1280x800 16:10
4 (2%)
1600x1200 4:3
8 (4%)
1280x960 4:3
7 (3.5%)
1024x768 4:3
24 (12%)
1280x1024 5:4
27 (13.5%)
1920x1080 16:9 (full HD)
35 (17.5%)
1280x720 16:9 (HD-ready)
2 (1%)
Other (please specify)
14 (7%)

Total Members Voted: 198

Author Topic: Which resolution do you play in?  (Read 12173 times)

Offline Capten_C

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.185
  • Well well well well well well well
    • View Profile
    • Youtube
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #15 on: 29-07-2010, 17:07:17 »
I have a Samsung 24" monitor and I've set the desktop @ 1920 x 1080.

I just checked my FH2 settings and that is 1024 x 768 @60Hz.

The game looks and plays fine, should I changed the FH2 to 1920 x 1080 as well? Am I missing out?  ???


Change to 1920x1080 at once! It may impact performance tho. Basically you're getting 1/5 the pixels you should be getting.


If you've set the resolution manually in the shortcut though, you'd still be getting full res (if you don't know what I'm talking about, you probably haven't)

Ok I just tested this. Eyes will take a while to readjust!  8)

Loading Screens and Menu looks a little stretched heightwise in comparison to 1024x768.

The rifles/pistols - woah! A LOT skinnier in aim view and lot smother detailed texture, like it.   :)
Player names look tiny on screen! Nice!
Players look smaller at medium distances compared to before. Will probably affect my aiming heh

The Tanks. Hmmm they look strange, really tall and narrower, I get the impression of less immensness e.g. Panther looks huge in 1024x768.
Will take some adjusting to, STUG looks like a toy, mind I will check out some real pics to get a comparisson, as I think the STUG wasn't as huge in RL as it looked like in 1024x768 setting.

Performance should be ok, I have a good G.Card/Ram.etc
Yes even more detail and polish, glad i saw this thread!



LEGENDARY FORGOTTEN HOPE 2 ROUNDS!!! >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xtJF9fL1YI

Offline :| Hi

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.944
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #16 on: 29-07-2010, 20:07:44 »
I should probably upgrade from my 90's monitor to something that understands what HD is >_>", is it really worth it?

[2:06:54 PM] Tolga: cant use tha shit underwater -Tolga on the G3

Offline Oddball

  • Positive Wave Director
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1.938
  • In Alliance with "Lumberjack Cammandos"....
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #17 on: 29-07-2010, 20:07:26 »
If your honestly using a monitor from the 90's, then yes. Most definetely.

Offline :| Hi

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.944
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #18 on: 29-07-2010, 20:07:53 »
Its only from 1997...
but its huge <3
Any company that makes monitors you guys can reccomend?

[2:06:54 PM] Tolga: cant use tha shit underwater -Tolga on the G3

Offline Yronno

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #19 on: 29-07-2010, 21:07:13 »
Any company that makes monitors you guys can reccomend?
I've made it a habit of turning off my monitor when I'm not using it. Unfortunately, Acer monitors take a couple seconds to start up, brandishing their logo across the black screen. This isn't unregistered Fraps, it's a monitor that I payed for. >:(

Offline Dukat

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.041
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #20 on: 29-07-2010, 22:07:35 »
Usually I play on 1024x768@75Hz. Especially hardware-hungry games. Older games I play on 1152x864@75Hz. My Desktop resolution is 1152x864@75Hz. Higher resolutions would not make sense anyway, as I'm playing on a 17'' Samsung SyncMaster 700p plus from 1999.

« Last Edit: 29-07-2010, 22:07:12 by Dukat »

I usually imagine my own sounds with it, like `tjunk, tupdieyupdiedee` aaa enemy spotted, ratatatataboom

Offline :| Hi

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.944
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #21 on: 29-07-2010, 22:07:23 »
that looks pretty advanced compared to mine, heh

[2:06:54 PM] Tolga: cant use tha shit underwater -Tolga on the G3

Offline Dukat

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.041
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #22 on: 29-07-2010, 22:07:23 »
I payed 700 DM. In those days you could get a no-name 17'' for 400 DM already. Of course it looked advanced. Even more important: it paid off by now and is very reliable. :)

I usually imagine my own sounds with it, like `tjunk, tupdieyupdiedee` aaa enemy spotted, ratatatataboom

Offline MaJ.P.Bouras

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 3.210
  • A Hellenic version of Jackie Chan.
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #23 on: 29-07-2010, 23:07:59 »
I changed today to 1366x768 . It looks so beautiful !!! But yes the tanks look funny indeed  :P

Offline Kev4000

  • Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.039
  • FH2 "special" coder
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #24 on: 30-07-2010, 01:07:08 »
Ok I just tested this. Eyes will take a while to readjust!  8)

Loading Screens and Menu looks a little stretched heightwise in comparison to 1024x768.

The rifles/pistols - woah! A LOT skinnier in aim view and lot smother detailed texture, like it.   :)
Player names look tiny on screen! Nice!
Players look smaller at medium distances compared to before. Will probably affect my aiming heh

The Tanks. Hmmm they look strange, really tall and narrower, I get the impression of less immensness e.g. Panther looks huge in 1024x768.
Will take some adjusting to, STUG looks like a toy, mind I will check out some real pics to get a comparisson, as I think the STUG wasn't as huge in RL as it looked like in 1024x768 setting.

Performance should be ok, I have a good G.Card/Ram.etc
Yes even more detail and polish, glad i saw this thread!

Your monitor is a widescreen? Did 1024x768 play with black bars on the sides? Take a screenshot of each setting, I have a feeling it may still not be optimal. HUD should be stretched, but never should the actual gameplay be.

Offline Capten_C

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.185
  • Well well well well well well well
    • View Profile
    • Youtube
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #25 on: 30-07-2010, 01:07:41 »
Quote
Your monitor is a widescreen? Did 1024x768 play with black bars on the sides? Take a screenshot of each setting, I have a feeling it may still not be optimal. HUD should be stretched, but never should the actual gameplay be.

Yes Samsung Syncmaster Widescreen 24". No black bars @ 1024x768. Perhaps slightly streched HUD but hardly noticable.
Much more smooth detail with 1920 x 1080, but everything looks smaller than before. Will take screenies tomorrow...or watch this space.

LEGENDARY FORGOTTEN HOPE 2 ROUNDS!!! >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xtJF9fL1YI

Offline Strat_84

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 369
  • Lemming Chieftain
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #26 on: 30-07-2010, 01:07:36 »
I play in 1600x1200@100hz (22" Cathodic monitors still rule !  :P) or 1280x960@85hz depending on the computer I use.

P.S: Too bad, this is an invasion of the wide-crap screens.  :-[


Offline Beaufort

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 405
  • WIP
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #27 on: 30-07-2010, 02:07:27 »
My desktop is set at 1680x1050 so I did the same for bf2/FH2 but I never managed to have a correct format (basicly rounds and squares for my minimaps and maps) outside this one (windowed) :

...FH2.exe" +menu 1 +fullscreen 0 +szx 1024 +szy 768

I just don't get all the twist and turns of the widescreen support for bf2 (although I've tried), and a lot of people seems to have the same issue if I believe what I see on youtube ... Could we have a sticky explaining one good time for all how to set your screen to enjoy the mod ? Please ?

Offline Capten_C

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.185
  • Well well well well well well well
    • View Profile
    • Youtube
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #28 on: 30-07-2010, 02:07:11 »
..And what does 60Hz & 100Hz actually mean regarding the monitor?

LEGENDARY FORGOTTEN HOPE 2 ROUNDS!!! >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xtJF9fL1YI

Offline Strat_84

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 369
  • Lemming Chieftain
    • View Profile
Re: Which resolution do you play in?
« Reply #29 on: 30-07-2010, 10:07:32 »
It means the lower the refresh rate is, the less frames your monitor can display (whatever your computer's power is)

Exemple: You have a standard LCD monitor (60hz) and a very powerful computer that can run FH2 around 150fps. In the best case only 60fps will be displayed.  ;)