Author Topic: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?  (Read 3261 times)

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 758
  • The Few are many;) (Used to be known as DJ Barney)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Hello,

I just wondered, will there be future support for SP African maps here as well ? There have been a few SP advances in the past and I think there are a few AI meshes knocking around out there, for Fall of Tobruk for example.

What about the development done for the BFSP FH beta ? Could that be incorporated into the FH main mod ? It would be a shame to see that work go to waste.

Offline cannonfodder

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.228
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #1 on: 15-11-2009, 09:11:06 »
Bardia
Gazala
Sidi Rezegh
Alam Halfa

These FH SP mod maps work with 2.2 (but have some bugs).

See this: http://www.battlefieldsingleplayer.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=14232

Offline hslan.totaler_humbug

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • hslan
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #2 on: 17-11-2009, 20:11:16 »
What about the development done for the BFSP FH beta ? Could that be incorporated into the FH main mod ? It would be a shame to see that work go to waste.

The Dev of the FH2SP Beta Wnterhilf is now part of the FH-Team, so you can be patient for more Maps with SP-Support.
We need to be able, to throw Thermos out of Spotterplanes.

Offline Michael Z Freeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 758
  • The Few are many;) (Used to be known as DJ Barney)
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #3 on: 17-11-2009, 21:11:12 »
Patience is on short supply around here at the moment, but I'll try. Thanks.

Offline hslan.totaler_humbug

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • hslan
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #4 on: 18-11-2009, 23:11:19 »
Haven´t you noticed the many new Maps with SP-support since 2.2? Only few africamaps are missing.
We need to be able, to throw Thermos out of Spotterplanes.

Offline djinn

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 5.723
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #5 on: 18-11-2009, 23:11:56 »
You must be refering to FHSW... If not, then I must tell you, there are only 4 new maps from this theater:
Tunis, Hyacinth, Giarabub and Crete.

That still leaves
Alam Halfa
Fall of Tobruk
Mareth
Sidi Rezegh
 and Bardia

Offline Zoologic

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.141
  • In FH Since 0.67
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #6 on: 19-11-2009, 07:11:58 »
Of all the widely available SP maps, some from FH2SP mini mod, only few are stable in FH2.2:

Very stable, no crash experienced by me: Giarabub (NA), Sfakia (NA), Mesra Matruh (NA), Siege of Tobruk (NA), Bardia (NA/FH2SP), Fall of Tobruk (NA/FH2SP), and Tunis (NA)
Partially stable, sometimes crash, but you can mostly finish one-two rounds: El Alamein (NA), Alam Halfa (NA/FH2SP), Gazala (NA/FH2SP), Sidi Rezegh (NA/FH2SP), Crete (NA)
Unstable, will crash before one full round: Hyacinth (NA), Supercharge (NA), Aberdeen (NA)

That leaves only Mareth Line (NA) for North African and Mediterranean theater.

Bardia has issues with some neighboring Strategic points, but can be fixed easily in the editor. It is the best SP map for NA theater IMO. The second best is Fall of Tobruk, except the British bots don't use their M3A1 Honey tank. It is the most perfect urban combat map that combines armor + infantry. And then there is Giarabub for best alleyway fights and narrow streets fire exchange. The most boring would be Mesra Matruh and Siege of Tobruk, as it is a very strategical big map, the stupid bots makes the dessert warfare game slow-paced and silly... as they attack individually, have to blame it on the map layout and the AI.

Normandy maps are all fine, Pointe du Hoc, Purple Heart Lane. Luettich will sometimes crash, but you can play one-two or more rounds and generally playable. Only Goodwood that is unstable and will crash (never played one full round on it, even after omitting non-AI vehicles).

That leaves Lebisey, Totalize, and Falaise Pocket.

Every working map in Normandy is awesome. Unlike dessert warfare, which requires group attack to make things more fun, in Normandy, lonewolfing is pretty okay. The most fun would be Purple Heart Lane, thanks to its wonderful layout, with stupid bots, the game would feel scenario-like. The most boring (even though better than NA boring maps) is Pointe du Hoc. It is just a repetitive shootings with Germans coming from that particular positions from time to time. Actually, the map would be the best if the objectives of destroying 4 155 mm guns were also implemented in SP version (we have to do it alone, since bots don't understand it, anyway Call of Duty and Medal of Honor games are also the same, we have to do it all alone).

Offline djinn

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 5.723
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #7 on: 19-11-2009, 10:11:56 »
Lo-ove Gazala.. but not sure how to get it into the original mod without it crashing due to the hurricane AT plane

Do you HAVE to play it in FHSP for it to work?

Offline cannonfodder

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.228
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #8 on: 19-11-2009, 10:11:57 »
Have you tried swapping it for a plane that does work? Or deleting it entirely?

Offline Zoologic

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.141
  • In FH Since 0.67
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #9 on: 19-11-2009, 11:11:58 »
True, you have to swap it from working planes.

Open sp_objects_vehicles_server.zip from FH2SP, find the HurricaneMkIID under Vehicles\air\gb, and copy all of it into FH2.2's HurricaneMKIId in the same directory of objects_vehicles_server.zip to make it work in SP. But expect troubles playing online in Gazala if you do this.

Same thing with Vickers machine gun pick-up kit. Open sp_objects_weapons_server.zip, find the Vickers303_tripod_dep under Weapons\emplaced\GB directory, and copy it to FH2.2's Vickers303_tripod_dep directory in objects_weapons_server.zip

You make both of them work, but will make them incompatible for online game... back up if you want to play online.

Offline djinn

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 5.723
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #10 on: 19-11-2009, 21:11:51 »
THANX

Offline General_Henry

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.460
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #11 on: 20-11-2009, 02:11:23 »
Of all the widely available SP maps, some from FH2SP mini mod, only few are stable in FH2.2:

Very stable, no crash experienced by me: Giarabub (NA), Sfakia (NA), Mesra Matruh (NA), Siege of Tobruk (NA), Bardia (NA/FH2SP), Fall of Tobruk (NA/FH2SP), and Tunis (NA)
Partially stable, sometimes crash, but you can mostly finish one-two rounds: El Alamein (NA), Alam Halfa (NA/FH2SP), Gazala (NA/FH2SP), Sidi Rezegh (NA/FH2SP), Crete (NA)
Unstable, will crash before one full round: Hyacinth (NA), Supercharge (NA), Aberdeen (NA)

That leaves only Mareth Line (NA) for North African and Mediterranean theater.

Bardia has issues with some neighboring Strategic points, but can be fixed easily in the editor. It is the best SP map for NA theater IMO. The second best is Fall of Tobruk, except the British bots don't use their M3A1 Honey tank. It is the most perfect urban combat map that combines armor + infantry. And then there is Giarabub for best alleyway fights and narrow streets fire exchange. The most boring would be Mesra Matruh and Siege of Tobruk, as it is a very strategical big map, the stupid bots makes the dessert warfare game slow-paced and silly... as they attack individually, have to blame it on the map layout and the AI.

Normandy maps are all fine, Pointe du Hoc, Purple Heart Lane. Luettich will sometimes crash, but you can play one-two or more rounds and generally playable. Only Goodwood that is unstable and will crash (never played one full round on it, even after omitting non-AI vehicles).

That leaves Lebisey, Totalize, and Falaise Pocket.

Every working map in Normandy is awesome. Unlike dessert warfare, which requires group attack to make things more fun, in Normandy, lonewolfing is pretty okay. The most fun would be Purple Heart Lane, thanks to its wonderful layout, with stupid bots, the game would feel scenario-like. The most boring (even though better than NA boring maps) is Pointe du Hoc. It is just a repetitive shootings with Germans coming from that particular positions from time to time. Actually, the map would be the best if the objectives of destroying 4 155 mm guns were also implemented in SP version (we have to do it alone, since bots don't understand it, anyway Call of Duty and Medal of Honor games are also the same, we have to do it all alone).

I think PDH with expert bots is fun, we need a group of humans to beat those bots...(we are outnumbered, though)

in the other maps bots are simply dumb. Simply target practices. Bots tank terribly that you could be running out of ammo for your tank so easily.

Offline Torenico

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 5.615
  • ¡Viva la Revolución!
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #12 on: 23-11-2009, 05:11:49 »
Can you guys tell me if i can get 48 Players in SP, especially in Bardia?

And the latest FHSP version. :D


Offline Zoologic

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.141
  • In FH Since 0.67
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #13 on: 23-11-2009, 07:11:56 »
Well, that is so eeezzyyy for SPers.

Anyway, go to your FH2 mod AI folder, usually in this directory:

C:\Program Files\EA Games\Battlefield 2\mods\fh2\ai

then open aidefault.ai, and you'll notice lines like these in that file:

Quote
aiSettings.setNSides 2
aiSettings.setAutoSpawnBots 1

aiSettings.setMaxNBots 64
aiSettings.maxBotsIncludeHumans 1
aiSettings.setBotSkill 0.4

put aiSettings.maxBotsIncludeHumans value to '0' so it will look like:

aiSettings.maxBotsIncludeHumans 0

Then you'll have 64 bots, i hope your machine can handle that.

To reduce number of bots, simple adjust the number in this line:

aiSettings.setMaxNBots ## to whatever you like, e.g. 50, 48, or up to your preference.



Now we get to work with Bardia 64 with navmesh from FH2SP mini mod. Well, since BF2 1.5, if has broken the AI commander stuff, so we must modify the AIStrategicAreas.ai file. So, i made new one:

http://rapidshare.com/files/310913375/StrategicAreas.ai.html

The bots are also waypointed to make them cross the bridge and shallow waters smoothly. To use this file, open server.zip from Battlefield 2\mods\fh2sp\levels\bardia open "GameModes\sp3\64\AI" paste the file here, replace the StrategicAreas.ai.

For me, because even HSLAN gave me a decent ping of 600 at best (never been able to play online), so i put the FH2SP's Bardia over FH2's original Bardia. (only copy the AI folder, AI Pathfinding folder, and Gamemodes\SP3\64\AI folder from between the server.zip) But don't do this if you are an avid online player as it would probably make the map incompatible with the servers.

Offline cannonfodder

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.228
    • View Profile
Re: Will there be future SP support for the Africa maps ?
« Reply #14 on: 23-11-2009, 08:11:01 »
You forgot to mention one thing, Zoo...

You need to insert this line too...
Code: [Select]
aiSettings.overrideMenuSettings 1
My aidefault file:
Code: [Select]
echo *****************************************************************************************
echo AIDefault.ai ****************************************************************************
echo *****************************************************************************************
aiSettings.setNSides 2
aiSettings.setAutoSpawnBots 1
aiSettings.overrideMenuSettings 1
aiSettings.setMaxNBots 39
aiSettings.maxBotsIncludeHumans 0
aiSettings.setBotSkill 1.0
run BotNames.ai
aiSettings.setInformationGridDimension 48
run AIPathFinding.ai
rem EOF

One more thing, this line sets bot difficulty:
Code: [Select]
aiSettings.setBotSkill 0.4
0.1 = easiest
1.0 = hardest

Also, the higher the difficulty, the harder it is on your CPU.