Author Topic: Vickers  (Read 869 times)

Offline valkar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Vickers
« on: 11-03-2013, 20:03:43 »
First of all, thanks for making this awesome game you guys  ;D

I only have one question. When i play par example Bardia on singleplayer, i get annoyed by one thing. I tend to pick up the Kar98K scoped kit here, and i start camping and killing the British from a safe distance. But i end up getting killed by a Vickers machine gun nest that is positioned at the British Camp.
Well, annoyed as i were i tried to shoot the Vickers bot, but i couldn't hit him (max range of the kar98k scoped is 600?) but the Vickers has a range of 4.000 meters, according to the Forgotten hope weapons statistics.
I hope you do realize 4000 meters is really much. I doubt that any Jerry has ever been killed with a vickers from that Range.
And worse is that i constantly get killed by a MG nest while my Kar98K scoped (a sniper for god sake) is out of range.

And sorry for my English, im not a native speaker, i might have made some mistakes ;)

Offline THeTA0123

  • The north remembers
  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 16.840
    • View Profile
Re: Vickers
« Reply #1 on: 11-03-2013, 20:03:14 »
Indirect long range fire was perfectly possible with such machine guns. Like the MG08, vickers, maxim, these had very very thick and very accurate barrels.


but yeah.its a bot issue tough
-i am fairly sure that if they took porn off the internet, there would only be one website left and it would be called bring back the porn "Perry cox, Scrubs.

Offline Turkish007

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.042
  • Mini-mod necromancer
    • View Profile
Re: Vickers
« Reply #2 on: 11-03-2013, 20:03:15 »
That can be fixed by modifying some weapon CON files, AFIK...

But my Bardia SP always crashes so I never experienced it myself.

Offline Korsakov829

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.746
    • View Profile
Re: Vickers
« Reply #3 on: 11-03-2013, 23:03:03 »
The stated maximum ranges on the site for almost all weapons in FH2 doesn't conform with what they really are in the game. Whether they are the actual maximum ranges for the real thing, I don't know.

I don't really see the issue, a vickers vs sniper is a fair fight within 300m. 600m is just within the fog on Bardia, but its still somewhat fair.

Offline valkar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Vickers
« Reply #4 on: 12-03-2013, 10:03:56 »
Yeah you guys are defenitly right about the vickers range, sorry xD

But my main issue tough is that i can't snipe the guy who operates the vickers with my sniper rifle. I give it another try today, to check if i wasn't wrong.

Offline Ts4EVER

  • Banner of THeTA0123
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 7.752
    • View Profile
Re: Vickers
« Reply #5 on: 12-03-2013, 12:03:30 »
You do know that you have to aim a few cm above the enemy's head at that range?

Offline valkar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Vickers
« Reply #6 on: 12-03-2013, 17:03:01 »
I never knew that FH2 had bullet drop xD I first thought bullet drop couldn't be done into BF2 but i realised that Project Reality also had bullet drop. Dumb me, sorry.
I give it a try right now, see if i can hit him