Author Topic: 3rd Person Tanks for SP  (Read 1538 times)

Offline mft004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
3rd Person Tanks for SP
« on: 15-09-2013, 13:09:31 »
So I'll update you on what I've done so far. 

I found out, from a developer's old post on the forums, that to get 3rd person views tankwise on singleplayer could be done by editing gameplayplugin.py, adding the word 'testing' to one of the lines of text, after the word spawnwave.  However, since that post, the developers made the file a .pyc file which was humanly unreadable. 

So I managed to find an online decompile tool to make the file readable again, pasted that text into a notepad file, added the word 'testing' in the right place and called the file gameplayplugin.py. 

Now that's all well and good, but I'm guessing that if I replaced that .pyc file with the .py file in the relevant FH2 folder, the game just wouldn't work.  I guess it's got to be converted back into a .pyc file.  That's where you guys come in.  Please tell me how I could do that.

Better yet, maybe one of the developers could quickly edit and send me another .pyc file that allows for SP 3rd person tank views already. 

Many thanks.

Offline fh_spitfire

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 421
  • FHer since 0.6 | aka spitfire05
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #1 on: 15-09-2013, 20:09:21 »
EDIT: I wrote some bullshit here, removed to not confuse future readers:)
« Last Edit: 15-09-2013, 22:09:34 by fh_spitfire »

Offline mft004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #2 on: 15-09-2013, 21:09:56 »
Many thanks Spitfire, many thanks.

Many thanks

Offline mft004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #3 on: 15-09-2013, 21:09:37 »
Oh, the current config.py file I have in that python folder actually has only two lines of text, very little.  Is that okay?  Do I just add the line you mentioned at the bottom?

Offline fh_spitfire

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 421
  • FHer since 0.6 | aka spitfire05
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #4 on: 15-09-2013, 22:09:43 »
Sorry, i got the syntax wrong, that was actually how it will look in new version. In 2.45 you should add this:
Code: [Select]
from game.gameplayPlugin import standard
standard.append('testing')
to mods/fh2/python/game/config.py

and it should work like a charm:)

Offline mft004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #5 on: 15-09-2013, 22:09:16 »
It worked!  I am at peace :)

My thanks again sir

Offline aleksadragutin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #6 on: 24-08-2014, 22:08:21 »
Hi, I'm reading this after the post has been edited, and I'm also using the version 2.48.
I don't see config.py file anywhere in the fh2 folder. Can you please help me.

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.125
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #7 on: 25-08-2014, 22:08:41 »
Hi, I'm reading this after the post has been edited, and I'm also using the version 2.48.
I don't see config.py file anywhere in the fh2 folder. Can you please help me.
If it's not visisble on this path:

mods/fh2/python/game/config.py

Then try to check if you maybe have some folder options disabled (in Windows, I mean).

Offline gavrant

  • (Almost) retired dev
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #8 on: 26-08-2014, 00:08:46 »
Hi, I'm reading this after the post has been edited, and I'm also using the version 2.48.
I don't see config.py file anywhere in the fh2 folder. Can you please help me.
Aleks, this is the solution: http://fhpubforum.warumdarum.de/index.php?topic=19777.0 , see reply #1 from me.

Slayer, config.py is obsolete since April (FH 2.46).

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.125
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #9 on: 26-08-2014, 13:08:26 »
OK, didn't know that. Maybe it's an idea to have the Launcher delete all obsolete files?

Offline gavrant

  • (Almost) retired dev
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #10 on: 26-08-2014, 13:08:10 »
It does, Slayer, it does... :)

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.125
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #11 on: 26-08-2014, 13:08:39 »
Mmm, OK. Then why do I still have the config.py?  ???


Offline gavrant

  • (Almost) retired dev
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #12 on: 26-08-2014, 13:08:49 »
IIRC, there was no suitable torrent for 2.45 at the time of 2.46 release. Or perhaps you used the full installer. For upgrades from 2.46, 2.47, etc the launcher does delete obsolete files.

Offline Slayer

  • Freeze Veteran
  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 4.125
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #13 on: 26-08-2014, 17:08:36 »
OK, I get it. It still puzzles me a bit why the Launcher doesn't detect the files and deletes them anyway on a later update.

Offline Stubbfan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 523
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd Person Tanks for SP
« Reply #14 on: 26-08-2014, 18:08:05 »
I think the launcher will only detect files that itself installed at one point. For example, any old custom map will not be deleted etc.