Author Topic: Battlecraft 1942 problem  (Read 916 times)

Offline Born2Kill 007

  • Anytime, baby
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1.809
  • Professional accountancy hater
    • View Profile
Battlecraft 1942 problem
« on: 05-09-2013, 21:09:03 »
I've always waned to make levels, but the thing is Battlecraft never worked on any computer with me. With my latest, it works fro designing the levels, but i can't test them...

Anyway, when i open battlecraft its starts with
"I require  the WGL_EXT_swap_control OpenGL extension to work"
then:
"BC failed to initialize some OpenGL extensions. BC will ocntinue to run. However, if you experience problems, it is recommended that you update your video drivers"

The it opens normal, i can make vanilla maps like i want. But the moment i want to do "test this level", BF1942 opens and loads a custom map i have in my program files for the BF league. I also can't find the level name in teh archives level folder or in any battlecraft folder so i could play it by just opening BF1942 and then choosing my custom map. Anyone can offer help here? :)

update: i think i found the maps
« Last Edit: 05-09-2013, 22:09:32 by Born2Kill 007 »
Ще ми се изпържи картофа
#FreeDamaso

Offline Born2Kill 007

  • Anytime, baby
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1.809
  • Professional accountancy hater
    • View Profile
Re: Battlecraft 1942 problem
« Reply #1 on: 10-09-2013, 01:09:39 »
ok right now i'm encountering 3 major problems:
firstly, how do you make a map that it is neutral in beginning, and then can only be capped by 1 team?
Secondly: how do you program that naval units only spawn if you have a certain base?
Thirdly: how do you deactivate a spawn on a ship?

Thanks in advance :)
Ще ми се изпържи картофа
#FreeDamaso

Offline RommelBr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Battlecraft 1942 problem
« Reply #2 on: 10-09-2013, 02:09:11 »
Quote from: Born2Kill 007
ok right now i'm encountering 3 major problems:
firstly, how do you make a map that it is neutral in beginning, and then can only be capped by 1 team?
From what I understand of your ask, you want to make one flag neutral and only cappable by one team, create a flag and check your configs (Double click the flag as i recall right now, i´m away from my desktop PC) on the tab that will appear you will see some self explanatory options. (I will try to rewrite this better when i get into my PC)
Quote from: Born2Kill 007
Secondly: how do you program that naval units only spawn if you have a certain base?
I don´t recall how to do this right now
Quote from: Born2Kill 007
Thirdly: how do you deactivate a spawn on a ship?
Thanks in advance :)
IIRC you can´t.  :P

Like i said above (I will try to rewrite this better when i get into my PC)

Offline Born2Kill 007

  • Anytime, baby
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1.809
  • Professional accountancy hater
    • View Profile
Re: Battlecraft 1942 problem
« Reply #3 on: 10-09-2013, 02:09:46 »
already thanks for your reply, but the self explanatory in 1 was't that clear to me. It gave me option that 1 team can cap, but it didn't show which one i wanted it to be able to cap it. I tried many different settings and everytime it was
a) no team can cap it
b) both teams can cap it

about 3:
I have played a map where there were subs but you couldn't spawn on them, yet drive them (you had to get on them with a raft), anyway, it's no problem i can't change it, if i can stop the ships from spawning to early by getting 1 and 2 working :)
Ще ми се изпържи картофа
#FreeDamaso

Offline Khaine

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
Re: Battlecraft 1942 problem
« Reply #4 on: 10-09-2013, 18:09:38 »
Or you can manually edit the ControlPointTemplates.con of your map, to make a flag only capable by one team. There are lots of maps where you meet this situation, for example on Omaha Beach the beach flag is only capable by Allies (team 2), here is a sample of ControlPointTemplates.con file :

ObjectTemplate.create ControlPoint beach
ObjectTemplate.networkableInfo ControlPointInfo
ObjectTemplate.setControlPointName Beach
ObjectTemplate.radius 41
ObjectTemplate.team 0 >> 0 means it is neutral at the beginning of the round
ObjectTemplate.spawnGroupId 4
ObjectTemplate.objectSpawnerId 4
ObjectTemplate.timeToGetControl 15
ObjectTemplate.timeToLoseControl 99
ObjectTemplate.onlyTakeableByTeam 2 >> only team 2 (allies) can cap this flag
ObjectTemplate.geometry flagbase2_m1
ObjectTemplate.areaValue 0
ObjectTemplate.minNrToTakeControl 2
ObjectTemplate.disableIfEnemyInsideRadius 0
ObjectTemplate.disableWhenLosingControl 0
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenEnemyClose 1
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenNotClose 0
ObjectTemplate.hasCollisionPhysics 1
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate AnimatedFlag
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0/8.2/0
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 1 flagge_m1
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 2 flagus_m1


And that's an other flag on the same map :

ObjectTemplate.create ControlPoint commandpost
ObjectTemplate.networkableInfo ControlPointInfo
ObjectTemplate.setControlPointName Commandpost
ObjectTemplate.radius 23
ObjectTemplate.team 1 >> that flag is controlled by Axis at the beginning
ObjectTemplate.spawnGroupId 2
ObjectTemplate.objectSpawnerId 2
ObjectTemplate.timeToGetControl 14
ObjectTemplate.timeToLoseControl 13
ObjectTemplate.geometry flagbase_m1
ObjectTemplate.areaValue 50
ObjectTemplate.disableIfEnemyInsideRadius 0
ObjectTemplate.disableWhenLosingControl 0
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenEnemyClose 1
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenNotClose 0
ObjectTemplate.hasCollisionPhysics 1
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate AnimatedFlag
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0/8.2/0
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 1 flagge_m1
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 2 flagus_m1

And you don't see this line : onlyTakeableByTeam, which means both teams can cap this flag.

-----
If I understand your second question correctly, you want to make a vehicle spawn only when a flag is capped, a kind of reinforcement. Once more you can use the code of other maps, on Alpenfestung, a King Tiger spawns at the airport if Allies cap the Church flag.

This is the spawner of King Tiger (ObjectSpawnTemplate.con) :
ObjectTemplate.create ObjectSpawner sidespawneraxistankheavy
ObjectTemplate.setObjectTemplate 2 kingtiger
ObjectTemplate.setObjectTemplate 1 none
ObjectTemplate.MinSpawnDelay 180
ObjectTemplate.MaxSpawnDelay 220
ObjectTemplate.SpawnDelayAtStart 0
ObjectTemplate.TimeToLive 45
ObjectTemplate.Distance 40
ObjectTemplate.DamageWhenLost 0

This is from the ObjectSpawns.con
Object.create sidespawneraxistankheavy
Object.absolutePosition 1061.17/30.7328/1903.38
Object.rotation -180.75/0/1.52588e-005
Object.setOSId 7

The number 7 in yellow correspond to the ID of the flag #7, if you check the ControlPointTemplates, you will see this :

ObjectTemplate.create ControlPoint broalleis_cpoint
ObjectTemplate.networkableInfo ControlPointInfo
ObjectTemplate.setControlPointName Church
ObjectTemplate.radius 5
ObjectTemplate.team 1
ObjectTemplate.spawnGroupId 7
ObjectTemplate.objectSpawnerId 7
ObjectTemplate.timeToGetControl 0
ObjectTemplate.timeToLoseControl 2
ObjectTemplate.geometry flagbase_m1
ObjectTemplate.setNetworkableInfo ControlPointInfo
ObjectTemplate.areaValue 50
ObjectTemplate.disableIfEnemyInsideRadius 0
ObjectTemplate.disableWhenLosingControl 0
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenEnemyClose 0
ObjectTemplate.loseControlWhenNotClose 0
ObjectTemplate.hasCollisionPhysics 1
ObjectTemplate.addTemplate AnimatedFlag
ObjectTemplate.setPosition 0/8.2/0
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 1 flagge_m1
ObjectTemplate.setTeamGeometry 2 flagus_m1

The King Tiger spawning on the airfield base is linked to the church, when Church's flag is controlled by Team 1 (Axis), there is no vehicle spawning at Airfield, however when it is controlled by Team 2 (Allies), a KT appears. This is how reinforcement works, I hope it is clear :s

Offline Born2Kill 007

  • Anytime, baby
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1.809
  • Professional accountancy hater
    • View Profile
Re: Battlecraft 1942 problem
« Reply #5 on: 10-09-2013, 21:09:47 »
Thank you!
I did watch Iwo and Omaha beach and copied the.con from them, but still didn't work here. I then woked around it by making a small flagrange, putting a fence around it, putting 1 vehicle in it that is only accessible by 1 team, and then it worked. This isn't an issue here for the gameplay tho, since it's a funrace course (for those who know parcours challenge, this map is very similar). My second problem is fixed meanwhile, the problem is that i had given the boats a team, and i had to put them "neutral" in order to spawn when the flag is taken by 1 team.

Thanks a lot both of you, you have given me the inspiration to solve the problems  ;D

3 is no longer a problem since 1 and 2 are fixed.
Ще ми се изпържи картофа
#FreeDamaso