Author Topic: FH2 Modding Q&A  (Read 144056 times)

Offline Mudzin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #660 on: 08-12-2013, 11:12:13 »
Yes, you were right - the light settings for terrain was set as grey color, so I changed to white and now looks fine, thanks!

Btw, how such light effect (you said "heavily colour corrected") was achieved on Eppeldorf?

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.546
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #661 on: 08-12-2013, 11:12:39 »
momma spoon fed you until you were sixteen or what? It's sticked topic in the modding section:
http://fhpubforum.warumdarum.de/index.php?topic=15984.0
« Last Edit: 08-12-2013, 12:12:37 by jan_kurator »

Offline Mudzin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #662 on: 08-12-2013, 14:12:23 »
Yes, she keeps on feeding me with spoon till today! :D

But seriously, I had read that topic before, but didn't know what about it was exactly, now I understand! :)

Offline Matthew_Baker

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.923
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #663 on: 11-12-2013, 23:12:37 »
Where exactly is the texture sheet for the MG42? ??? (The handheld first person version). I've looked in weapons/handheld/mg42bipod where the weapon mesh is but I can't find the .dds texture sheet for the life of me. All the other weapons have a 'texture' folder where the .con file is except the mg 32 & 42. Anyone know?

Offline aserafimov

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #664 on: 12-12-2013, 04:12:42 »
If you open a mg42bipod bundledmesh file, check the bottom lines:
objects/weapons/armament/de/mg42/textures/mg42_c.dds,
objects/weapons/armament/de/mg42/textures/mg42_b.dds

The textures are available in objects_weapons_client_textures.zip/Weapons/armament/de/mg42/textures/.
« Last Edit: 12-12-2013, 05:12:45 by aserafimov »

Offline Matthew_Baker

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.923
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #665 on: 12-12-2013, 06:12:18 »
Got it :D thanks

Offline Roughbeak

  • Science of Hooting, PhD
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.438
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #666 on: 15-12-2013, 19:12:16 »
This may not be a modding question but I did not know where else to put it.

What kind of copyright issues do you have with the> detail_cobble_siegfried_line < or any kind of terrain textures you use?

I thought about using them in one of my maps (not BF2 Editor, CE3 SDK), I definitely will not use them commercially!

Personally I think it is one of the best textures you have. ;)




Please let me know if you do have copyrights with these!
« Last Edit: 15-12-2013, 23:12:08 by Roughbeak »

Offline Turkish007

  • Masterspammer
  • ****
  • Posts: 4.060
  • Mini-mod necromancer
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #667 on: 22-12-2013, 19:12:22 »
Is it possible to use a Google Sketchup model in BF2?

Offline Ts4EVER

  • Banner of THeTA0123
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 7.812
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #668 on: 22-12-2013, 19:12:12 »
If you can import it into 3ds max 9 then yes I guess.

Offline Mudzin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #669 on: 09-01-2014, 22:01:29 »
How can I get this PanzerIV F2 texture:


?

There's no such model in bf2editor and didn't find any proper line in tmp.con (like it was done with bf109 and Stuka on this map)...

Edit:
Now when I looked at this screenshot I also found that this Sdkfz also has that texture...
« Last Edit: 09-01-2014, 22:01:27 by Mudzin »

Offline Ts4EVER

  • Banner of THeTA0123
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 7.812
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #670 on: 09-01-2014, 22:01:33 »
It's done by custom texture suffix. "Bouzid".

Offline Mudzin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #671 on: 10-01-2014, 01:01:09 »
Ah... Ok, thanks!  :)

Offline Matthew_Baker

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 1.923
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #672 on: 11-01-2014, 21:01:00 »
Something I've always wanted to know; when you guys render tanks (m4a1 for example), I'm assuming you use geom1 lod0 and everything under that tree. When you look at that tho there are no tracks on the model, or they're warped?

I'm just wondering how do you get the tracks to render? They're an alpha map right? or animated polygons?

I'm just wondering if anyone knows how to find the tank tracks for each tank and be able to apply a texture to them and render them...
« Last Edit: 11-01-2014, 22:01:28 by Matthew_Baker »

Offline Mudzin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #673 on: 14-01-2014, 00:01:27 »
Do you use medium or final quality with rendering objects? I've read some opinions on bf2editor and some people claimed that medium settings are better, because on final quality shadows are too dark or sth like that. So which of these should I use?

Offline Ts4EVER

  • Banner of THeTA0123
  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 7.812
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Modding Q&A
« Reply #674 on: 14-01-2014, 01:01:24 »
Something I've always wanted to know; when you guys render tanks (m4a1 for example), I'm assuming you use geom1 lod0 and everything under that tree. When you look at that tho there are no tracks on the model, or they're warped?

I'm just wondering how do you get the tracks to render? They're an alpha map right? or animated polygons?

I'm just wondering if anyone knows how to find the tank tracks for each tank and be able to apply a texture to them and render them...

Errrrr, you have access to the beta forums now, right? There is a tutorial on news renders, if that is what you mean, just look under dev tutorials.

@Mudzin: You mean lightmaps? Because in that case always final.