Author Topic: FH2 Objects in BF 2 editor  (Read 206 times)

Offline vakantieman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
FH2 Objects in BF 2 editor
« on: 18-04-2021, 15:04:30 »
Hey, forgive me if I post this in the wrong place, I'm not very familiar with this forum yet. I started trying to create an FH2 map (thanks to TS4ever for his tutorials on Youtube). Now I run into the problem that I cannot place objects. FH2 Objects are not found in the BF2 Editor. Have searched online but a lot of info is so old that either links no longer work or it is about FH2 as BF2 Mod (I use the standalone version). Does anyone know how to get FH2 Objects working in the BF2 Editor?

Offline Ivanwazowsky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • artstation.com/ivanwazowsky
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Objects in BF 2 editor
« Reply #1 on: 18-04-2021, 16:04:51 »
Hi, You need BF2 to use bf2editor and the other modding stuffs. You cannot do modding stuff with the standalone version.  Also follow the instructions from http://forgottenhope.warumdarum.de/tutorials/index.php   There are many tutorials about modding stuff.
« Last Edit: 18-04-2021, 16:04:25 by Ivanwazowsky »

Offline vakantieman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Objects in BF 2 editor
« Reply #2 on: 18-04-2021, 16:04:08 »
Aaaah that explains it. will have to look where I can find my old copy of BF2. thanks for the answer. saves me a lot of work to get the standalone working for the bf2editor. Now I know it just doesn't work.

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.517
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Objects in BF 2 editor
« Reply #3 on: 22-04-2021, 09:04:28 »
You can use standalone to work with Editor, FH2 objects are part of FH2, not BF2. Standalone version is just a cut out version of BF2 (FH2 is still a BF2 mod, you need the base game to run it), without levels folders and probably some other bits.

Did you follow the basic tutorial on how to setup your editor? You can find it here.
« Last Edit: 22-04-2021, 09:04:41 by jan_kurator »

Offline vakantieman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Objects in BF 2 editor
« Reply #4 on: 18-05-2021, 15:05:11 »
Thanks for the help so far.

Maybe another question. I'm well on my way with the map. now there are a few things that I have no idea how to make or find.

1) Rubble. as seen here in the Brest map http://forgottenhope.warumdarum.de/screenshotsfh2/Battle%20of%20Brest/brest_12.jpg
there are Rubble textures (detail_french_rubble2) but when I look at these they are of too low quality and look very different. Also (as in the Brest photo) there are 3D objects such as small pieces of stone (bricks) and wood to be seen. where can I find it? and are ground textures the right way to make rubble?

2) Railway wagons. On maps like Operation Cobra http://forgottenhope.warumdarum.de/screenshotsfh2/Operation%20Cobra/cobra_06.jpg and Operation Hyacinth http://forgottenhope.warumdarum.de/screenshotsfh2/Operation%20Hyacinth/hyacinth_11.jpg are large railway wagons. I can't find these in the editor. I did find the railway wagons that can be found on the Seelow Heights map but they do not fit on the map I want to make.

Offline jan_kurator

  • FH-Betatester
  • ***
  • Posts: 2.517
  • Magnificent Mustard
    • View Profile
Re: FH2 Objects in BF 2 editor
« Reply #5 on: 18-05-2021, 21:05:21 »
1. Rubble like that is achieved via undergrowth
2. Those big railcars are vBF2 statics, you need to unpack those (and load in the BF2 editor) in order to place them on your map