Author Topic: I can't even launch the game!  (Read 252 times)

Offline nickm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
I can't even launch the game!
« on: 21-05-2022, 05:05:45 »
Hi,

The FH2 GUI asks me if I want to update, I hit yes. After a rather long download, I try to start the game and I get this error that stops me dead in my tracks:

(a Red circle with a white "X" thru it)

An application error occurred. Please contact the mod developer with the following information:

Unhandled System.NullReverenceException exceptions:
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.


Stack Trace:
   at
FH@Common.|18N.< > c_DisplayCLass10_0. < GetLanguageBYEnglishName>b_0(CultureInfo ci)
  at
System.Linq.Enumerable.FirstOrDefault[TSource](IEnumerable 1 source, Func'2 predicate)
  at FH2Common.|18N.GetGameLanguage()
  at FH2Launcher.Program.Main(String[]argas)

and a little box with OK in it, which, when I click, closes the box.


Naturally I'm too technically unadept to do anything about this and need help--Please use small words: I need the "Penny" explanation and not the 'Sheldon' Explanation.

Offline Seth_Soldier

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.200
  • "Mort aux cons !"
    • View Profile
Re: I can't even launch the game!
« Reply #1 on: 21-05-2022, 12:05:57 »
i think your lang is not supported so it doesn't know how to set it the first time
so you need to set it n english by default.

(then you will be able to launch the launcher and select an other language supported: french, english, ukrainian,  bielorussian, vietamese, ...)


Here how to do that
Quote
SOLUTION
Navigate to the game directory and then to mods/fh2/bin/. Launch BF2_Language_Changer.exe and select English language.

basically the solution is to change the lang of bf

For active support you can check our discord (#troubleshot):
https://discord.com/invite/hU878P4

PS: what is your lang ?
« Last Edit: 21-05-2022, 12:05:11 by Seth_Soldier »

Offline Tromolone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: I can't even launch the game!
« Reply #2 on: 21-05-2022, 18:05:51 »
Hi,
I had the same issue with the update but after that I found another problem.
Basically the game ends everytime I try to start it. It checks for the resolution (the same one I've always used) and then it simply go to the desktop without any message.
I also tried to run it like admin and to change to XP sp3 for compatibility problems but in no case did it work.

I also tried to "disable desktop composition" but if I do and then I launch ForgottenHope2.exe it remainds me to BF2.
What else can I do?
Thanks
« Last Edit: 21-05-2022, 18:05:10 by Tromolone »

Offline nickm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: I can't even launch the game!
« Reply #3 on: 21-05-2022, 20:05:26 »
i think your lang is not supported so it doesn't know how to set it the first time
so you need to set it n english by default.

(then you will be able to launch the launcher and select an other language supported: french, english, ukrainian,  bielorussian, vietamese, ...)


Here how to do that
Quote
SOLUTION
Navigate to the game directory and then to mods/fh2/bin/. Launch BF2_Language_Changer.exe and select English language.

basically the solution is to change the lang of bf

For active support you can check our discord (#troubleshot):
https://discord.com/invite/hU878P4

PS: what is your lang ?


English, but I am rather tech non adept

Offline Seth_Soldier

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Posts: 2.200
  • "Mort aux cons !"
    • View Profile
Re: I can't even launch the game!
« Reply #4 on: 22-05-2022, 21:05:58 »
Hi,
I had the same issue with the update but after that I found another problem.
Basically the game ends everytime I try to start it. It checks for the resolution (the same one I've always used) and then it simply go to the desktop without any message.
I also tried to run it like admin and to change to XP sp3 for compatibility problems but in no case did it work.

I also tried to "disable desktop composition" but if I do and then I launch ForgottenHope2.exe it remainds me to BF2.
What else can I do?
Thanks

In the launcher options/videos check "windowed mode" then try to play. I will show a popup error with a more explicit message. then you should be able to find a solution.
Maybe it's related to you graphic card driver (make sure to update them)

For more active tech support you can check the discord

Offline nickm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: I can't even launch the game!
« Reply #5 on: 04-07-2022, 21:07:01 »
I still can't get the game to start; I even opened up my folder and 'redownloaded' and 'repaired' my game but still 'no joy'.

EDIT:

FORGET EVERYTHING I SAID; I found the language tab and changed it==Now, Everything works just fine-ish.  ;D

Looking forward to the next update, and hopefully some Pacific Theater maps.
« Last Edit: 04-07-2022, 22:07:00 by nickm »

Offline CptdeS35

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 403
    • View Profile
Re: I can't even launch the game!
« Reply #6 on: 04-07-2022, 22:07:02 »
Good job Seth & nice you are able to join us nickm !
FH2 Dev (wait seriously ?)


Offline nickm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: I can't even launch the game!
« Reply #7 on: 05-07-2022, 06:07:59 »
Good job Seth & nice you are able to join us nickm !

Thanks, but I am a off line player only.